MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 7TH MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2007) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD ON THURSDAY, 27TH DECEMBER, 2007 HELD AT 4.25 P.M IN THE SPEAKER'S CHAMBERS PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (11)

<u>Chairman</u>

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PP/C) (6)

The Hon. Samuel A.A Hinds, M.P-(Excused)Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communication-(Excused)

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation

The Hon. Dr Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P Minister of Health

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P

Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P

(Excused)

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

From the People's National Congress Reform - 1Guyana (PNCR -1G) (3)

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Ms. Africo Selman, M.P

From the Alliance for Change (AFC) (1)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P

(Excused)

Officers

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs	-	Clerk of the National Assembly
Ms. Debra H. Cadogan	-	Assistant Head of Committees Division

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 4.25 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened for the purpose of nominating Members to effect changes in the representation of the following Committees of the National Assembly:

- (i) Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Economic Service;
- (ii) Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Social Services;
- (iii) Assembly Committee;
- (iv) Statutory Instruments Committee;
- (v) Special Select Committee on Guyana Fiduciary Oversight Project;
- (vi) Special Select Committee on Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Bill 2007 Bill No. 18/2007; and

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE PARLIAMENTARY SECTORAL COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC SERVICES

From the People's National Congress Reform -1 Guyana (PNCR – 1G)

• On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry and seconded by Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, Mr. Winston S. Murray was nominated as Substantive Member to replace Mr. James K. McAllister who had resigned from the Committee. Mr. Dave Danny was nominated as an Alternate Member.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE PARLIAMENTARY SECTORAL COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL SERVICES

From the Alliance For Change (AFC)

• On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry and seconded by Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, Ms. Latchmin Budhan-Punalall was nominated to replace Ms. Chantalle L. Smith who had resigned from the Committee.

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE

From the Alliance For Change (AFC)

• On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry and seconded by Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, Ms. Latchmin Budhan-Punalall was nominated to replace Ms. Chantalle L. Smith who had resigned from the Committee.

<u>NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS</u> <u>COMMITTEE</u>

From the People's National Congress Reform -1 Guyana (PNCR – 1G)

• On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry and seconded by Ms. Africo Selmon, Mrs. Clarissa Riehl was nominated to replace Mr. James K. McAllister who had resigned from the Committee.

<u>NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON</u> <u>GUYANA FIDUCIARY OVERSIGHT PROJECT</u>

From the People's National Congress Reform -1 Guyana (PNCR – 1G)

• On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry and seconded by Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, Mr. Winston S. Murray was nominated to replace Mr. James K. McAllister who had resigned from the Committee.

<u>SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON ANTI-MONEY LAUNDERING AND</u> <u>COUNTERING THE FINANCING OF TERRORISM BILL 2007 – BILL NO.</u> <u>18/2007</u>

From the People's National Congress Reform -1 Guyana (PNCR – 1G)

• On a proposal by Mrs. Clarissa Riehl and seconded by Mr. Winston S. Murray, Mr. E. Lance Carberry was nominated to replace Mr. James K. McAllister who had resigned from the Committee.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

The meeting terminated at 4.30 p.m.

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P Speaker of the National Assembly Chairperson of the Committee of Selection