

ACT No. 15 of 2011

CARIBBEAN COMMUNITY (FREE ENTRY OF SKILLED NATIONALS) (AMENDMENT) ACT 2011

ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS

SECTION

- 1. Short title.
- 2. Amendment of section 8 of the Principal Act.
- 3. Amendment of Schedule 1 to the Principal Act.

PRICE: \$260.00 - To be purchased from Parliament Office, Georgetown, Guyana.

PRINTED BY GUYANA NATIONAL PRINTERS LIMITED.

AN ACT to amend the Caribbean Community (Free Entry of Skilled Nationals) Act.

2

A.D. 2011. Enacted by the Parliament of Guyana:-

Short title

Cap. 93:02

1. This Act, which amends the Caribbean Community (Free Entry of Skilled Nationals) Act, may be cited as the Caribbean Community (Free Entry of Skilled Nationals) (Amendment) Act 2011.

Amendment of section 8 of the Principal Act

- 2. Section 8 (1) of the Principal Act is amended by substituting for the subsection the following as subsection (1)
 - "(1) An applicant under section 6 who holds any of the following qualifications shall satisfy the qualifications of this Act for the grant of a Schedule 11 certificate -
 - (a) university graduates;
 - (b) media workers;
 - (c) musicians;
 - (d) artistes;
 - (e) sports persons;
 - (f) teachers;
 - (g) registered nurses;
 - (h) persons holding associate degrees;
 - (i) artisans possessing a Caribbean vocational qualification or an approved national vocational qualification;
 - (j) domestics who have obtained a Caribbean vocational qualification;
 - (k) any qualification certified by the Secretary General of the Caribbean Community under section 9 as satisfying the qualification requirement of this Act;
 - (1) any qualification which the Minister may by order prescribe.".

Amendment of Schedule 1 to the Principal Act. 3. Schedule I to the Principal Act is repealed and the following Schedule substituted for the Schedule -

"SCHEDULE I

s.2

[A.D. 2011

QUALIFYING CARIBBEAN COMMUNITY STATES

- Antigua and Barbuda (1)
- The Bahamas (2)
- Barbados (3)
- Belize (4)
- Dominica (5)
- Grenada (6)
- **(7)** Guyana
- (8) Jamaica
- Montserrat (9)
- (10)St. Christopher and Nevis
- (11)St. Lucia
- St. Vincent and the Grenadines (12)
- Suriname (13)
- Trinidad and Tobago." (14)

Passed by the National Assembly on 14th July, 2011.

FuClerk of the National Assembly.

(BILL No. 12/2011)