MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 12TH MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2008) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD ON THURSDAY 21ST MAY, 2009 AT 4.15 P.M. IN THE SPEAKER'S CHAMBERS, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN.

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (11)

Chairman

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly,

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PP/C) (6)

The Hon. Samuel A.A Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communication

The Hon. Dr Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health (Excused)

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.

Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

(Excused)

(Excused)

(Nominated by the Committee of Selection on 9th April, 2009)

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P.

From the People's National Congress Reform - 1Guyana (PNCR -1G) (3)

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

(Excused)

Ms. Africo Selman, M.P.

From the Alliance for Change (AFC) (1)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Officers

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs Ms. Debra H. Cadogan Clerk of the National Assembly Assistant Head of Committees Division

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The meeting commenced at 4.15 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened to nominate Members to the Special Select Committee on the Allied Health Professions Bill 2009- Bill No. 15 of 2009.

-

_

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) (6)

On a proposal by Ms. Gail Teixeira M.P., seconded by The Hon. Samuel A.A Hinds, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.,
- The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R. A. Westford, M.P.
- The Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P.
- Mrs. Philomena Sahoye- Shurry, C.C.H, J.P., M.P.
- Mr. Steve P. Ninvalle, M.P.
- Dr. Vishwa Deva Budhram Mahedeo, M.P.

From the People's National Congress Reform -1 Guyana (PNCR - 1G) (3)

On a proposal by Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., seconded by Ms. Africo Selman, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.
- Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.
- Dr. John Austin, M.P.

From the Alliance For Change (AFC) (1)

On a proposal by Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P, the following Member was nominated:

- Mrs. Sheila Holder, M.P.



TERMINATION OF MEETING

The meeting terminated at 4.18 p.m.

u Vent ... HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P Speaker of the National Assembly

Chairperson of the Committee of Selection

3