MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 17TH MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2009) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD ON THURSDAY, 19th NOVEMBER, 2009 AT 3.00 P.M.

IN THE SPEAKER'S CHAMBERS, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN.

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (11)

Chairman

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., The Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PP/C) (6)

The Hon. Samuel A.A.Hinds, M.P.,

- (Excused)

Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communication

The Hon. Dr Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P., - (Absent)

Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P.,

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

(Nominated by the Committee of Selection on 9th April, 2009)

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P.

From the People's National Congress/Reform - 1Guyana (PNC/R-1G) (3)

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Ms. Africo Selman, M.P. - (Absent)

From the Alliance for Change (AFC) (1)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. - (Absent)

Officers

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs

Ms. Debra H. Cadogan Mr. Nickalai Pryce

Clerk of the National Assembly

Head of Committees Division (Ag)

Assistant Clerk of Committees

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The meeting commenced at 3.00 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened to nominate Members to the following Committees of the National Assembly:

- Special Select Committee on Maritime Zones Bill 2009- Bill No. 36 of 2009; and
- Special Select Committee on Credit Reporting Bill 2009- Bill No.37 of 2009;

and for the purpose of effecting changes to Members of:

- The Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Foreign Relations;
- Special Select Committee on the Custody, Contact, Guardianship and Maintenance Bill- Bill No. 29 of 2009 and the Childcare and Development Services Bill 2009 - Bill No. 31 of 2009; and
- Special Select Committee on the Sexual Offences Bill-Bill No. 30 of 2009.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEES ON THE MARITIME ZONES BILL 2009 – BILL No. 36 OF 2009.

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) (6)

On a proposal by Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P.,
- The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M. P.,
- The Hon. Robert M. Persand, M.P.,
- The Hon. B.H. Robeson Benn, M.P.,
- Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P.,
- Ms. Bibi S. Shadick, M.P.

From the People's National Congress /Reform -1 Guyana (PNC/R - 1G)

On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P.,
- Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.,
- Mr. Aubrey C. Norton, M.P.

From the Alliance For Change (AFC) (1)

Due to the absence of Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., there were no nominations from the AFC.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON CREDIT REPORTING BILL 2009- BILL No. 37 OF 2009.

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) (6)

On a proposal by Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- The Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P.,
- The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.,
- The Hon. Jennifer I. Webster, M.P.,
- The Hon. Manniram Prashad, M.P.,
- The Hon. Mohamed Irfaan Ali., M.P.,
- Mr. Parmanand P. Persaud, M.P.

From the People's National Congress/Reform -1 Guyana (PNC/R - 1G) (3)

On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.,
- Mr. Dave Danny, M.P.,
- Ms. Africo Selman, M.P.

From the Alliance For Change (AFC)(1)

Due to the absence of Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., there were no nominations from the AFC.

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE PARLIAMENTARY SECTORAL COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN RELATIONS.

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C)

On a proposal by Ms. Gail Texeira, M.P., seconded by Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P. Ms. Bibi S. Shadick, M.P., was nominated to replace Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., who had resigned form the Committee.

WITHDRAWAL OF NOMINATIONS FOR MEMBERSHIP TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEES ON THE CUSTODY, CONTACT, GUARDIANSHIP AND MAINTENANCE BILL 2009- BILL No. 29 OF 2009 AND THE CHILDCARE AND DEVELOPMENT SERVICES BILL 2009- BILL No. 31 OF 2009.

From the People's National Congress /Reform -1 Guyana (PNC/R - 1G)

The PNCR -1G did not proceed with their nominations.

WITHDRAWAL OF NOMINATIONS FOR MEMBERSHIP TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE SEXUAL OFFENCES BILL 2009- BILL No. 30 OF 2009.

From the People's National Congress /Reform -1 Guyana (PNC/R - 1G)

The PNCR -1G did not proceed with their nominations.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

The meeting terminated at 3.10 p.m.

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P. Speaker of the National Assembly

Chairperson of the Committee of Selection