MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 18TH MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2009) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD ON THURSDAY, 10th DECEMBER, 2009 AT 4.28 P.M.

IN THE SPEAKER'S CHAMBERS, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN.

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (11)

Chairman

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., The Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PP/C) (6)

The Hon. Samuel A.A.Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communication

The Hon. Dr Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health

(Excused)

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.

Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

(Nominated by the Committee of Selection on 9th April, 2009)

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P.

From the People's National Congress/Reform - 1Guyana (PNC/R-1G) (3)

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Ms. Africo Selman, M.P.

(Absent)

From the Alliance for Change (AFC) (1)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.



Officers

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs - Clerk of the National Assembly
Ms. Debra H. Cadogan - Head of Committees Division (Ag)
Mr. Nickalai Pryce - Assistant Clerk of Committees

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The meeting commenced at 4.28 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened to nominate Members to the following Committee of the National Assembly:

- Special Select Committee on Person's with Disabilities Bill 2009- Bill No. 44 of 2009.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON PERSON'S WITH DISABILITIES BILL 2009- BILL No. 44 of 2009.

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) (6)

On a proposal by Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P., seconded by the Hon. Samuel A.A.Hinds, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P.
- The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M. P.
- The Hon. Dr. Desrey Fox, M.P.
- Mr. Norman A. Whittaker, J.P., M.P.
- Dr. Vishwa Deva Budhram Mahadeo, M.P.
- Rev. Kwame Gilbert, M.P.

From the People's National Congress /Reform -1 Guyana (PNC/R - 1G)

On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.
- Dr. George A. Norton., M.P.
- Ms. Cheryl Sampson, M.P.

From the Alliance For Change (AFC) (1)

On a proposal by Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., the following Member was nominated:

- Mrs. Latchmin Budhan- Punalall, M.P.

ANY OTHER BUSINESS:

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE MARITIME ZONES BILL 2009 – BILL No. 36 of 2009.

From the Alliance For Change (AFC) (1)

On a proposal by Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., the following Member was nominated:

- Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON CREDIT REPORTING BILL 2009- BILL No. 37 of 2009.

From the Alliance For Change (AFC)(1)

On a proposal by Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., the following Member was nominated:

Mr. David Patterson, M.P.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

The meeting terminated at 4.30 p.m.

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P

Speaker of the National Assembly

Chairperson of the Committee of Selection