MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 8TH MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2008) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD ON WEDNESDAY, 3RD DECEMBER, 2008 AT 4.00 P.M. IN THE SPEAKER'S CHAMBERS, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN.

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (11)

Chairman

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PP/C) (6)

The Hon. Samuel A.A Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communication (Excused)

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation

The Hon. Dr Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.

Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

From the People's National Congress Reform - 1Guyana (PNCR -1G) (3)

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Ms. Africo Selman, M.P.

(Excused)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Officers

Mr.	Sherlock E. Isaacs
Ms.	Debra H. Cadogan
Me	Sueanna Reynolds

- Clerk of the National Assembly
- Assistant Head of Committees Division
- Ms. Sueanna Reynolds
- Assistant Clerk of Committees

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The meeting commenced at 4.00 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened to nominate Members to the following Committees of the National Assembly:

-

- Special Select Committee on the Impact of Global Food Prices; -
- Special Select Committee on the Court of Appeal (Amendment) Bill 2008 -- Bill No. 12 of 2008;
- Special Select Committee on the Money Transfer Agencies (Licensing) Bill 2008 - Bill No. 15 of 2008.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE IMPACT OF GLOBAL FOOD PRICES

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) (6)

On a proposal by Ms. Gail Teixeira M.P., seconded by Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- The Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M. P.
- The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R. A. Westford, M.P.
- The Hon. Manniram Prashad, M.P.
- The Hon. Pauline Sukhai, M.P.
- Mr. Harripersaud Nokta, M. P.
- Mrs. Shirley Edwards, M.P. -

From the People's National Congress Reform -1 Guyana (PNCR - 1G)

No nominations were made by the PNCR-1G.

From the Alliance For Change (AFC) (1)

On a proposal by Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., seconded by Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., the following Member was nominated:

Mrs. Sheila Holder, M.P.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE COURT OF APPEAL (AMENDMENT) BILL 2008 - BILL NO. 12 OF 2008

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) (6)

On a proposal by Ms. Gail Teixeira M.P., seconded by Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.
- The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P.
- The Hon. Kellawan Lall, M.P.
- The Hon. Priva Manickchand, M.P.
- Mrs. Bibi Shadick, M.P.
- Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P.

From the People's National Congress Reform -1 Guyana (PNCR - 1G) (3)

On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
- Mrs. Deborah Backer, M.P.
- Mr. Basil Williams, M.P.

From the Alliance For Change (AFC)(1)

On a proposal by Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P., the following Member was nominated:

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

3

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE MONEY TRANSFER AGENCIES (LICENSING) BILL 2008 - BILL NO. 15 OF 2008

: -

3

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) (6)

On a proposal by Ms. Gail Teixeira M.P., seconded by Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- The Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P.
- The Hon. Maniram Prashad, M.P.
- Mr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali, M.P.
- Mr. Mohamed F. Khan, M.P.
- Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.
- Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.

From the People's National Congress Reform -1 Guyana (PNCR - 1G) (3)

On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- Mr. Winston Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
- Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.
- Mr. Dave D. Danny, M.P.

From the Alliance For Change (AFC) (1)

On a proposal by Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P., the following Member was nominated:

- Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

ANY OTHER BUSINESS

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE PARLIAMENTARY SECTORAL COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN RELATIONS

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C)

On a proposal by Ms. Gail Texeira, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Mr. Norman A. Whittaker, M.P., was nominated to replace Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P., who had ceased to be a Member of the Committee by virtue of her status as a Minister.



-

43

TERMINATION OF MEETING

The meeting terminated at 4.05 p.m.

1 An Raw Coosar

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P Speaker of the National Assembly Chairperson of the Committee of Selection