AMENDED

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 2ND MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2007) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD ON TUESDAY 23RD JANUARY, 2007 AT 4.07 P.M IN THE SPEAKER'S CHAMBERS PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (11)

<u>Chairman</u>

2

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P

Excused

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PP/C) (6)

The Hon. Samuel A.A Hinds, M.P Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communication

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P - Absent Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation

The Hon. Dr Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P Minister of Health

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P

Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

From the People's National Congress Reform - 1Guyana (PNCR -1G) (3)

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Excused

1

Mrs. Deborah H. Backer, M.P. for Mr. Carberry

Ms. Africo Selman, M.P

From the Alliance for Change (AFC) (1)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P

Officers

| Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs | - | Clerk of the National Assembly |
|------------------------|---|---------------------------------------|
| Ms. Debra H. Cadogan | - | Assistant Head of Committees Division |
| Ms. Sonia Maxwell | - | Assistant Clerk of Committee |

PRESIDING OFFICER

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker, in the absence of the Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P, the Chairman of the Committee, presided over the proceedings.

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 4.07 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened to nominate Members of the following Committees of the National Assembly:

- Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply
- The Guyana Fiduciary Oversight Project

At this point, the Hon. Samuel Hinds informed the Chairperson that he would also submit the names of members of the Special Select Committee on the Health Facilities Licensing Bill 2006 - Bill No. 29/2006.



NOMINATION OF MEMBERS OF SUB-COMMITTEE OF THE COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) (5)

On a proposal by the Hon. Samuel Hinds and seconded by Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P the following Members were nominated:

- The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M.P.
- The Hon Dr Ashni K. Singh, M.P.
- The Hon S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P.
- The Hon Harry Narine Nawbatt, M.P
- Mr. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P.

From the People's National Congress Reform -1 Guyana (PNCR - 1G) (3)

On a proposal by Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P and seconded by Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P the following Members were nominated:

- Mrs. Deborah Backer, M.P
- Ms Amna Ally, M.P

5

t

- Mr. Desmond Fernandes, M.P

From the Alliance For Change (AFC) (1)

On a proposal by Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P and seconded by Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P the following Member was nominated:

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS OF THE GUYANA FIDUCIARY OVERSIGHT PROJECT

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) (6)

On a proposal by the Hon. Samuel Hinds and seconded by Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P the following Members were nominated:

- The Hon. Shaik K.Z Baksh, M.P
- The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.
- The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P.
- The Hon Jennifer I. Webster, M.P.
- Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P
- Mrs Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

From the People's National Congress Reform - 1 Guyana (PNCR - 1G) (3)

On a proposal by Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P and seconded by Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P the following Members were nominated:

4

.

1

4

- Mr. Basil Williams, M.P
- Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P
- Mr. James K. Mc Allister, M.P.

From the Guyana Action Party/Rise Organise and Rebuild (GAP/ROAR (1)

On a proposal by Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P and seconded by Mr. Kemraj Ramjattan, M.P the following Member was nominated:

- Mr Everall Franklin, M.P.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS OF THE HEALTH FACILITIES LICENSING BILL 2006/BILL NO. 29/2006

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) (5)

On a proposal by the Hon. Samuel Hinds and seconded by Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P the following Members were nominated:

- The Hon Leslie Ramsammy, M.P.
- The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P.
- The Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P.
- Mr. Mohabir A. Nandall, M.P.
- Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shurry, C.C.H., J.P, M.P.

From the People's National Congress Reform - 1 Guyana (PNCR - 1G)

Mrs Backer undertook to provide the Committee of Selection with the names of Members for this Committee since it was not listed on the agenda.

From the Alliance For Change (AFC) (1)

On a proposal by Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P and seconded by Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P the following Member was nominated:

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P

TERMINATION OF MEETING

1

5

7

(

The meeting terminated at 4.20 p.m.

۲ anssa-2

MRS. CLARISSA S. RIEHL, M.P Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly, Performing the functions of Chairperson of the Committee of Selection