# THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA (2006-2007)

# **SECOND REPORT**

# **OF THE**

# **COMMITTEE ON APPOINTMENTS**

IN RELATION TO THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

COMMITTEES DIVISION PARLIAMENT OFFICE PUBLIC BUILDINGS GEORGETOWN

10th May, 2007

#### SECOND REPORT

#### 1. Introduction

1.1 The Standing Committee established under the Constitution to address matters relating to the appointment of Members of Commissions, pursuant to Article 119C of the Constitution and under the provisions of Standing Order No. 84, has agreed to the following as its Second Report –

#### **Members of the Committee**

1.2 At a meeting of the Committee of Selection held on 14<sup>th</sup> December, 2006, the following Members were nominated to the Committee on Appointments to address matters relating to the appointment of Members of the Commission:

# Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic:

- (i) The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.
- (ii) The Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P.
- (iii) The Hon. Brindley H.R. Benn, M.P
- (iv) The Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P.
- (v) The Hon. Jennifer I. Webster, M.P
- (vi) Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P.

### Members from the People's National Congress/Reform - 1 Guyana:

- (i) Mrs. Deborah Backer, M.P
- (ii) Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.
- (iii) Ms. Amna Ally, M.P

# Member from the Alliance For Change:

Mrs. Sheila Holder, M.P

#### 2. Election of Chairman

2.1 The Committee, at its first meeting held on 21st December, 2006 unanimously elected Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P. as its Chairperson.

#### 3. Terms of Reference

- 3.1 The Committee, by Resolution No. 17 passed on 8<sup>th</sup> May, 2003, by the National Assembly was entrusted to discharge the following functions in relation to the appointment of a member of the Commission established under the Constitution
  - "(a) identify appropriate bodies for consultation in the appointment of the relevant members of the Commission, conduct the necessary consultations with them and, where necessary, receive nominations from appropriate bodies;
  - (b) make recommendations to the National Assembly
    - (i) for a consensual mechanism for the Ethnic Relations
      Commission, the Women and Gender Equality Commission,
      the Indigenous Peoples' Commission and the Rights of the
      Child Commission;
    - (ii) for the appointment of members of the Commissions with the exception of the Public Procurement Commission; and
    - (iii) in connection with any other matter referred to it by the National Assembly from time to time.
  - (c) report to the National Assembly in relation to each Commission as soon as possible upon the discharge of its function in relation thereto."

#### 4. Mandate

4.1 The Committee was mandated by Article 200 (1) (b) of the Constitution in relation to the Public Service Commission, to nominate for appointment by the President:

"two Members appointed by the President upon nomination by the National Assembly after it has consulted such bodies as appear to it to represent Public Officers or classes of public officers"

# 5. Meetings of the Committee

5.1 The Committee held a total of eight (8) meetings, as follows:

List of Meetings	Dates of Meeting
1st Meeting of the Committee	21st December, 2006
2 <sup>nd</sup> Meeting of the Committee	10th January, 2007
3 <sup>rd</sup> Meeting of the Committee	27th February, 2007
4th Meeting of the Committee	20th March, 2007
5th Meeting of the Committee	27th March, 2007
6th Meeting of the Committee	17th April, 2007
7th Meeting of the Committee	24th April, 2007
8th Meeting of the Committee	2 <sup>nd</sup> May, 2007

# 6. Public Service Commission

At its 3<sup>rd</sup> meeting held on 27<sup>th</sup> February, 2007 the following bodies were proposed to be considered as bodies appearing to the Committee to represent Public Officers or classes of Public Officers, and decided that each union be invited to submit nominations for appointment in accordance with Article 200 (1) (b) of the Constitution:

- (i) The Guyana Public Service Union
- (ii) The Public Service Senior Staff Association
- (iii) Federation of Unions of Government Employees
- (iv) National Union of Public Service Employees
- (v) The Guyana Labour Union.
- 6.1.1 The Unions were advised that the Committee would have no objections to them consulting with each other on their nominations.
- 6.1.2 On 28th February, 2007 invitations were dispatched to the Unions requesting them to submit their nominations to the Committee by 15th March, 2007.

#### 6.2 The Nomination Process

6.2.1 Each union submitted its nomination on the requisite date and on 20<sup>th</sup> March, 2007, the Committee proceeded to examine the following submissions:

# (i) Guyana Public Service Union

- Mr. Herman De Souza, Retired Fire Officer
- Ms Vera Lynette Naughton, Senior Education Officer (Retired)

# (ii) Public Service Senior Staff Association

- Mr. Cecil Seepersaud, Head, Agriculture Project Cycle Unit and Attorney-at- Law
- Mr Meryn St Hill

## (iii) Federation of Unions of Government Employees

- Mr. Carvil Duncan, General Secretary
- Mr. Earl Aloysius Welch, Secretary

- (iv) National Union of Public Service Employees
  - Mr. Carvil Duncan, General Secretary
  - Mr. Earl Aloysius Welch, Secretary
- (v) The Guyana Labour Union
  - Mr. Carvil Duncan, General Secretary
- 6.2.2 The following proposals were made relating to the persons to be signified to the President for appointment to the Public Service Commission:

**Proposal 1 made by the PPP/C representatives:** Mr. Cecil Seepersaud and Mr. Carvil Duncan.

Proposal 2 made by the PNCR-IG representatives: Ms. Vera Naughton and Mr. Cecil Seepersaud.

- 6.2.3 Consideration of these proposals was deferred to a subsequent meeting.
- 6.2.4 At its 17<sup>th</sup> April, 2007, meeting, the Committee resumed its consideration of this Commission and received the following proposals:

**Proposal 1 of the PPP/C was reiterated:** Mr. Cecil Seepersaud and Mr. Carvil Duncan.

Proposal 2 of the PNCR-IG was amended: Mr. Herman DeSouza and Ms. Vera Naughton.

**Proposal 3 of the AFC representative:** Mr. Cecil Seepersaud and Ms Vera Naughton.

The Committee agreed to defer its decision for the next meeting.

# 7. The Committee's Selection Process

- 7.1 At its meeting on 24<sup>th</sup> April, 2007, as no consensus had been reached, the Committee agreed to proceed to call for a vote. The first two proposals were put from the previous meeting and by a majority vote, the Committee nominated Mr. Carvil Duncan and Mr. Cecil Seepersaud.
- 7.1.1 The Committee now reports to the National Assembly that it has meaningfully consulted the Guyana Public Service Union, the Public Service Senior Staff Association, the Federation of Unions of Government Employees, the National Union of Public Service Employees and the Guyana Labour Union, bodies that appear to it to represent Public Officers or classes of Public Officers, and recommends that **Mr. Carvil Duncan and Mr. Cecil Seepersaud** be signified as the Assembly's choice to the President for appointment as Members of the Public Service Commission.

Gail Teixeira, M.P. Charperson

Committee on Appointments

3rd May, 2007