MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 3ND MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2007) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD ON TUESDAY, 13th MARCH, 2007 AT 4.05 P.M IN THE SPEAKER'S CHAMBERS PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (11)

Chairman

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PP/C) (6)

The Hon. Samuel A.A Hinds, M.P Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communication

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation Absent

The Hon. Dr Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P Minister of Health

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.

Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

Excused

From the People's National Congress Reform - 1Guyana (PNCR -1G) (3)

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P. For Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Ms. Africo Selman, M.P.

From the Alliance for Change (AFC) (1)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P

Officers

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs - Clerk of the National Assembly

Ms. Debra H. Cadogan - Assistant Head of Committees Division

Mrs. Claudia Daniels-Greenidge - Clerk of Committee

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 4.05 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened to consider the duplication in the nominations of Opposition Alternate Members on the Sectoral Committees.

The Chairman drew Members' attention to paragraph 2 of Resolution No. 19 dated 15th May, 2003 which states:

"The Sectoral Committees shall consist of seven (7) members, four (4) representing the Government and three (3) representing the Opposition. The Government and Opposition are entitled to elect one alternate member each for each Sectoral Committee.

He said that the Committee of Selection in nominating members to the various Committees on 14th December, 2007 had erred, in that, it allowed each Opposition Party to nominate Alternate Members to the Sectoral Committees.

The Chairman then invited suggestions as to which Opposition Alternates should remain on the Sectoral Committees.

The Deputy Speaker pointed out that since the AFC had a substantive Member on each Sectoral Committee the Alternates of the PNCR – 1G should remain as Opposition Alternates on the Committees.

The Committee agreed to the Deputy Speaker's proposal.

Mr Ramjattan in acknowledging the error stated that there might be a need for the Standing Orders to be amended to accommodate a second Opposition Alternate.

The Chairman reminded Mr. Ramjattan that in other legislatures there was no representation from the smaller parties at the level of Committees.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

The meeting terminated at 4.15 p.m.

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P Speaker of the National Assembly, Chairperson of the Committee of Selection