# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 19<sup>TH</sup> MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2010) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD ON THURSDAY, 11<sup>TH</sup> MARCH, 2010

### AT 3.50 P.M. IN THE SPEAKER'S CHAMBERS, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN.

#### **ATTENDANCE**

### **MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (11)**

### **Chairman**

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., The Speaker of the National Assembly

#### Other Members

### Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) (6)

The Hon. Samuel A.A.Hinds, M.P.,

(Excused)

Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communication

The Hon. Dr Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.,

(Excused)

Minister of Health

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.

Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

(Nominated by the Committee of Selection on 9th April, 2009)

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P.

### From the People's National Congress/Reform - 1Guyana (PNC/R-1G) (3)

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Ms. Africo Selman, M.P.

(Absent)

### From the Alliance for Change (AFC) (1)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Absent)

### **Officers**

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs Mrs. Claudia Daniels-Greenidge Mr. Nickalai Pryce Clerk of the National Assembly
Clerk of Committees
Assistant Clerk of Committees

### COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The meeting commenced at 3.50 p.m.

### **PURPOSE OF MEETING**

The meeting was convened to nominate Members to the following Committee of the National Assembly:

- Special Select Committee on the Legal Practitioners (Amendment) Bill - Bill No. 45/2009; and

To effect change to Membership of the Special Select Committee on Persons with Disabilities Bill 2009- Bill No. 44 of 2009.

## NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE LEGAL PRACTITIONERS (AMENDMENT) BILL 2009 – BILL No. 45/2009.

### From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C)

On a proposal by Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P., seconded by Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- The Hon. Charles R. Ramson, SC, M.P.
- The Hon, Manzoor Nadir, M.P.
- Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P.
- Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P.
- Mr. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P.
- Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.

### From the People's National Congress /Reform -1 Guyana (PNC/R-1G)

On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., seconded by Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P.
- Mr. Basil Williams, M.P.
- Mr. Aubrey C. Norton, M.P.

### From the Alliance For Change (AFC) (1)

Due to the absence of Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., there were no nominations from the AFC.

### NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES BILL 2009- BILL No. 44 of 2009.

### From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C)

On a proposal by Ms. Gail Texeira, M.P., seconded by Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P., the Hon. Dr. Jennifer R. A. Westford, M.P., was nominated to replace the late Dr. Desrey Fox, M.P. on the Committee.

### **ANY OTHER BUSINESS:**

### NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE

### From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C)

On a proposal by Ms. Gail Texeira, M.P., seconded by Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P., Mr. Lloyd J. Pereira, M.P., was nominated to replace the late Dr. Desrey Fox, M.P. on the Committee.

### **TERMINATION OF MEETING**

The meeting terminated at 4.05 p.m.

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P

Speaker of the National Assembly

Chairperson of the Committee of Selection