MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 12TH MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2004) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 4.00 P.M THURSDAY, 30TH DECEMBER, 2004

AT THE OCEAN VIEW CONVENTION CENTRE LILIENDAAL, EAST COAST DEMERARA

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS

Chairman

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P. Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffery, M.P. Minister of Education

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Members from the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, M.D., M.P.

Dr. Carl Max Honoman, M.D., M.P.

OFFICERS

Ms. Debra Cadogan - Assistant Head of Committees Division

Ms. Sonia Maxwell - Assistant Clerk of Committee

Ms. Deborah Gray - - do -

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 4.00 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The purpose of the Meeting was to enable the Committee of Selection to:

- (i) nominate Members of the Special Select Committee on the Ministry of Health Bill 2004 Bill No. 24/2004 (Read the 2nd time on 16th December, 2004), and
- (ii) nominate Members of the Special Select Committee to recommend to the National Assembly whether the twenty-five seats provided for by section 11 of the Representation of the People's Act should be increased and, if so, by how many.

(i) NOMINATION OF MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH BILL 2004 – BILL NO. 24/2004 (READ THE 2ND TIME ON 16TH DECEMBER, 2004).

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

On a proposal by the Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud and seconded by Mr. Donald Ramotar, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C,M.P
- (ii) Dr. Jennifer R.A Westford, M.P.
- (iii) Dr. Leslie Ramsammy, M.P
- (iv) Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal M.P
- (v) Dr. Beri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P.

From the Members of the Opposition (4)

On a proposal by the Mr. E. Lance Carberry and seconded by Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, M.P, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) Mr. Winston S. Murray, CCH, M.P
- (ii) Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, M.D, M.P
- (iii) Dr. George A. Norton, M.P
- (iv) Dr. Max Hanoman, M.D, M.P

		i
		*
		•
		-
		*
		•

(ii) NOMINATION OF MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE TO RECOMMEND TO THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY WHETHER THE TWENTY-FIVE SEATS PROVIDED FOR BY SECTION 11 OF THE REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE'S ACT SHOULD BE INCREASED AND, IF SO, BY HOW MANY.

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

On a proposal by the Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud and seconded by Mr. Feroze Mohamed, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P.
- (ii) The Hon. Dr. Leslie Ramsammy, M.D, M.P
- (iii) Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P
- (iv) Dr. Beri S. Ramsaran, M.D, M.P
- (v) Mrs Philomena Sahoye-Shury, CCH, JP, M.P.

From the Members of the Opposition (4)

No nominations were made by the Opposition.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

There being no further business the meeting of the Committee of Selection was terminated at 4.05 p.m.

HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P.

Speaker of the National Assembly

Chairman of the Committee of Selection

PARLIAMENT OFFICE Public Buildings Brickdam Georgetown.