MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 13TH MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2005) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 4.00 P.M TUESDAY, 3RD MAY, 2005 IN THE SPEAKER'S CERMONIAL OFFICE

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS

Chairman

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P.		
Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport	-	Absent

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffery, M.P. Minister of Education - Absent

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip - Absent

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P. - Excused

Members from the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Ar. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip	-	Excused
Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, M.D., M.P.		Absent
Dr. Carl Max Honoman, M.D., M.P.	-	Absent

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock Isaacs-Clerk of the National AssemblyMr. Maurice B. Henry-Head of Committees DivisionMs. Deborah Gray-Assisant Clerk of Committee

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 3.45 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The purpose of the Meeting was to facilitate the nomination of Members to the following Committees:

 The Special Select Committee on the Value-Added Tax Bill 2005, Bill No. 3/2005; and +

(ii) The Special Select Committee on the Excise Tax Bill 2005, Bill No. 4/2005.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE VALUE-ADDED TAX BILL 2005, BILL NO. 3/2005.

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

On a proposal by the Hon. Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and seconded by the Deputy Speaker, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P
- (ii) The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P
- (iii) The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P
- (iv) The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.
- (v) Mr. Odinga Lumumba, M.P

From the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

On a proposal by the Deputy Speaker, and seconded by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) Mr. Winston S. Murray, CCH, M.P
- (ii) Mr. Jerome Khan, M.P
- (iii) Mr. James McAllister, M.P

From the Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance - GAP/WPA(1)

On a proposal by the Deputy Speaker and seconded by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Mrs. Sheila Holder was nominated.

NOMINATIONS OF MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE EXCISE TAX BILL NO. 4/2005

On a proposal by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and seconded by the Deputy Speaker, the following Members were nominated:

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic(5)

- (i) The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P
- (ii) The Hon. Shaik K. Z. Baksh, M.P
- (iii) The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P
- (iv) The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.
- (v) Mr. Odinga Lumumba, M.P

From the People's National Congress/Reform(3)

On a proposal by the Deputy Speaker and seconded by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) Mr. Winston Murray, C.C.H., M.P
- (ii) Mr. Jerome Khan, M.P
- (iii) Mr. James K. McAllister, M.P

3

From the Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance(1)

On a proposal by the Deputy Speaker and seconded by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Mrs. Sheila Holder was nominated.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

There being no further business, the meeting was terminated at 3. 50 p.m.

auleonan

HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P. Speaker of the National Assembly Chairman of the Committee of Selection.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE Public Buildings Brickdam Georgetown.