# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 14<sup>TH</sup> MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2005) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

#### HELD AT 4.05 P.M THURSDAY, 27<sup>TH</sup> OCTOBER, 2005 IN THE SPEAKER'S CHAMBER PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

#### <u>ATTENDANCE</u>

#### MEMBERS (10)

#### **Chairman**

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Ilon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

#### Other Members

#### Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P. Minister of Culture, Youth, Sport and Home Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffery, M.P. Minister of Education

- (Excused)

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

#### Members from the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, M.D., M.P.

Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, M.D., M.P.

#### **Officers**

Mr. Sherlock Isaacs

Clerk of the National Assembly

Ms. Debra H. Cadogan

Assistant Head of Committees Division

#### **COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING**

The Meeting commenced at 4.05 p.m.

#### **PURPOSE OF MEETING**

The purpose of the Meeting was to enable the Committee of Selection to nominate Members for the Special Select Committee on the Amerindian Bill 2005 – Bill No. 13/2005 (Read the 2<sup>nd</sup> time on 20<sup>th</sup> October, 2005).

## NOMINATION OF MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE AMERINDIAN BILL – BILL NO. 13/2005 (READ THE 2<sup>ND</sup> TIME ON 20<sup>TH</sup> OCTOBER, 2005

#### From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

On a proposal by the Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud and seconded by Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P.
- (ii) The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.
- (iii) The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P.
- (iv) The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.
- (v) Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P.

#### **Members of the Opposition**

Mr. E. Lance Carberry undertook to submit to the Committee the names of the Members of the Opposition as early as possible.

### **TERMINATION OF MEETING**

There being no further business, the meeting was terminated at 4.08 p.m.

HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P.

au Ceenan

Speaker of the National Assembly

Chairman of the Committee of Selection.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE Public Buildings Brickdam Georgetown.