# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 15<sup>TH</sup> MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2005)

## OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

## HELD AT 3.50 P.M THURSDAY, 3<sup>RD</sup> NOVEMBER, 2005 IN THE SPEAKER'S CERMONIAL OFFICE PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

#### **ATTENDANCE**

#### MEMBERS (10)

#### **Chairman**

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

## **Other Members**

## Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

(Excused)

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffery, M.P.

Minister of Education

(Excused)

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

## Members from the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.,

Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

(Excused)

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, M.D., M.P.

(Excused)

Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, M.D., M.P.

#### **Officers**

Mr. Sherlock Isaacs - Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Maurice B. Henry - Head of Committees Division

Ms. Debra H. Cadogan - Assistant Head of Committees Division

#### **COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING**

The Meeting commenced at 3.50 p.m.

#### **PURPOSE OF MEETING**

The purpose of the Meeting was to enable the Committee of Selection to nominate-

- (i) Members for the Special Select Committee on the Report and Addendum of the Needs Assessment of the Guyana National Assembly; and
- (ii) Members of the Opposition for the Special Select Committee on the Amerindian Bill Bill No. 13/2005 (Read the 2<sup>nd</sup> time on 20<sup>th</sup> October, 2005)
- (I) NOMINATION FOR MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE REPORT AND ADDENDUM OF THE NEEDS ASSESSMENT OF THE GUYANA NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (6)

On a proposal by Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed and seconded by the Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.
- (ii) The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.
- (iii) Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.
- (iv) Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.
- (v) Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P.
- (vi) Dr. Moti Lall, C.C.H., M.P.

#### From the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry and seconded by Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H, M.P.
- (ii) Mrs. Clarissa S.Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
- (iii) Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P, Chief Whip
- (iv) Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, M.D., M.P.

#### From the Rise, Organise and Rebuild (1)

On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry and seconded by Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, Mr. Ravindra Dev, M.P. was nominated.

(ii) NOMINATION OF MEMBERS OF THE OPPOSITION FOR THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE AMERINDIAN BILL – BILL NO. 13/2005 (READ THE 2<sup>ND</sup> TIME ON 20<sup>TH</sup> OCTOBER, 2005

## From the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry and seconded by Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
- (ii) Mr. Vincent Alexander, M.P.
- (iii) Dr. George Norton, M.P.

# From the Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (1)

On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry and seconded by Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, Mrs. Shirley J. Melville, M.P. was nominated.

## **TERMINATION OF MEETING**

There being no further business, the meeting was terminated at 3.55 p.m.

HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P. Speaker of the National Assembly Chairman of the Committee of Selection.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE Public Buildings Brickdam Georgetown.