MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 16TH MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2005) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 2.40 P.M

THURSDAY, 24TH NOVEMBER, 2005 IN THE SPEAKER'S CERMONIAL OFFICE PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS (10)

Chairman

The Speaker of the National Assembly,
The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P.
Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffery, M.P.

Minister of Education

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P. - Absent

Members from the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, M.D., M.P.

Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, M.D., M.P.

Officers

Ms. L. Coonjah - Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Maurice B. Henry - Head of Committees Division
Ms. Deborah Gray - Assistant Clerk of Committee

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 2.40 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened to nominate -

- (i) Members of the Special Select Committee on the Value-Added Tax Regulations 2005; and
- (ii) Members of the Special Select Committee on the Excise Tax Regulations 2005.

NOMINATION FOR MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE VALUE-ADDED TAX REGULATIONS 2005

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

On a proposal by the Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud and seconded by the Hon. Dr. Henry Jeffrey, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) The Hon. Saisenarine Kowlessar, M.P.
- (ii) The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.
- (iii) The Hon. Sheik Baksh, M.P.
- (iv) The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.
- (v) Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

From the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry and seconded by Dr. Dagleish Joseph, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H, M.P.
- (ii) Mr. James McAllister, M. P
- (iii) Mr. Stanley Ming, M.P.
- (iv) Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE EXCISE TAX BILL REGULATIONS 2005

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic(5)

On a proposal by the Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud and seconded by the Hon. Dr. Henry Jeffrey the following Members were nominated:

- (i) The Hon. Saisenarine Kowlessar, M.P.
- (ii) The Hon. Dr. Leslie Ramsammy, M.P.
- (iii) The Hon. Sheik Baksh, M.P.
- (iv) The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.
- (v) Mr. Odinga Lumumba, M.P

From the People's National Congress/Reform(4)

On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry and seconded by Mrs. Clarissa Reihl, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) Mr. Winston S.Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
- (ii) Mr. James McAllister, M.P.
- (iii) Mr. Stanley Ming, M.P.
- (iv) Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P.

ANY OTHER BUSINESS

Mr. Carberry requested the following information:

- A list of all current Special Select Committees;
- The date on which they were established;
- A list of Members of each Committee, and
- The date of the last meeting of each Committee.

The Chairman advised that the information would be furnished by the Committees Division.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

There being no further business, the meeting was terminated at 2.45 p.m.

HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P.

Speaker of the National Assembly

Chairman of the Committee of Selection.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE Public Buildings Brickdam Georgetown.