100

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 16TH MEETING (No. 2) OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2005) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 2.40 P.M THURSDAY, 24TH NOVEMBER, 2005 IN THE SPEAKER'S CERMONIAL OFFICE

PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS (10)

Chairman

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P. Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffery, M.P. Minister of Education

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P. - Absent

Members from the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, M.D., M.P.

Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, M.D., M.P.

Officers

Ms. L. Coonjah - Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Maurice B. Henry

Ms. Deborah Gray

- Head of Committees Division

Assistant Clerk of Committee

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 2.40 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened to nominate Members of the Special Select Committee on the Municipal and District Councils(Amendment) Bill 2005 -No. 9/2005.

NOMINATION FOR MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE MUNICIPAL AND DISTRICT COUNCILS(AMENDMENT) Bill NO. 9/2005

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

On a proposal by the Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud and seconded by the Hon. Dr. Henry Jeffrey, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) The Hon. Clinton Collymore, M.P.
- (ii) Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, M.P.
- (iii) Mr. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P.
- (iv) Mr. Cyril Belgrave, M.P.
- (v) Mr. Heeralall Mohan, M.P.

From the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

On a proposal by Mr. E. Lance Carberry and seconded by Dr. Dagleish Joseph, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) Mr. Vincent Alexander, M.P.
- (ii) Mr. Basil Williams, M..P
- (iii) Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P.
- (iv) Ms. Sandra Adams, M.P.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

There being no further business, the meeting was terminated at 2.45 p.m.

HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P. Speaker of the National Assembly

Chairman of the Committee of Selection