MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 18TH MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2006) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 4.28 P.M THURSDAY, 16TH MARCH, 2006 IN THE SPEAKER'S CHAMBERS PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (10)

<u>Chairman</u>

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffery, M.P., Minister of Education - Absent

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Members from the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, M.D., M.P. - Absent

Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, M.D., M.P.

Officers

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs	-	Clerk of the National Assembly
Mr. Maurice B. Henry	-	Head of Committees Division
Ms. Sherene Warren	-	Assistant Clerk of Committee

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 4.28 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened to nominate Members to effect changes in the representation of a number of Committees.

PARLIAMENTARY STANDING COMMITTEE ON CONSTITUTIONAL REFORM

On a proposal by Mr. Carberry and seconded by Mrs. Riehl, Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P., was nominated to replace Mr. Raphael Trotman, M.P., who resigned.

PARLIAMENTARY SECTORAL COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL SERVICES

On a proposal by Mr. Carberry and seconded by Dr. Hanoman, Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, M.P., alternative member on this Committee was nominated to replace Mr. Dereck Bernard, a substantive member.

On a proposal by Mr. Carberry and seconded by Dr. Hanoman, Mr. Dave Danny M.P., was nominated an alternate member.

PARLIAMENTARY SECTORAL COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN RELATIONS

On a proposal by Mr. Carberry and seconded by Dr. Hanoman, Mr. Dereck Bernard, M.P., was nominated to replace Mr. Raphael Trotman, M.P., who resigned .

On a proposal by Mr. Carberry and seconded by Dr. Hanoman, Mr. Joseph Hamilton, M.P., was nominated to replace Ms Lurlene A. Nestor, M.P., who resigned as an alternate member on the Committee.

٠

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE

On a proposal by Mr. Carberry and seconded by Dr. Hanoman, Mr. Dave Danny M.P., was nominated to replace Mrs. Myrna Peterkin, M.P.

COMMITTEE ON PRIVILEDGES

On a proposal by Mr. Carberry and seconded by Mrs. Riehl, Mr. Joseph Hamilton, M.P., was nominated to replace Mr. Raphael Trotman, M.P., who resigned.

SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE MUNICIPAL AND DISTRICT COUNCILS (AMENDMENT) BILL- Bill No. 2/2005

On a proposal by the Hon. Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and seconded by Mr. Ramotar, Mrs. Shirley Edwards, M.P., was nominated to replace Mr. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

2

There being no further business, the meeting of the Committee of Selection was terminated at 4.35 p.m.

ik am learna

HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P Speaker of the National Assembly Chairman of the Committee of Selection