NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

Frank A. Narain, C.C.H. Clerk of the National Assembly

Tel: 592-2-61465 Fax: 592-2-51357



Parliament Office, Public Buildings, Georgetown, Guyana

25th June, 2001

To All Members of the Committee of Selection (As per list attached)

Dear Hon. Member,

1st Meeting of Committee of Selection Tuesday, 26th June, 2001

At its Third Sitting on Thursday, 31st May, 2001, the National Assembly, in accordance with Standing Order No. 70(1) of the Standing Orders of the National Assembly, appointed the Committee of Selection and nominated you as one of the eight Members to comprise that Committee, with the Speaker of the National Assembly, as Chairman of the Committee.

- 2. The duty of the Committee of Selection is to nominate the Members to comprise the following other Sessional Select Committees of the National Assembly:-
 - (i) Business Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply (S.O. No. 64 (1))
 - (ii) Public Accounts Committee (S.O. No. 70 (2))
 - (iii) Standing Orders Committee (S.O. No. 70(3))
 - (iv) Assembly Committee (S.O. No. 70(4))
 - (v) Committee of Privileges (S.O. No. 70(5))
- 3. I have therefore been requested by the Speaker of the National Assembly (The Chairman of the Committee of Selection) to invite you to –

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

Chairman

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Other Members

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

From the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE <u>1ST MEETING</u> OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2001) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 5.15 P.M.

ON TUESDAY, 26TH JUNE, 2001

IN THE SPEAKER'S OFFICE, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS

Chairman

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education (Absent)

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

(i) BUSINESS SUB-COMMITTEE OF THE COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary

From the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

(ii) PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (6)

Mr. Cyril C.L. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P.

Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P.

(iv) ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (4)

Mr. Cyril C.L. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

From the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

Mr. Andy Goveia, M.P.

Miss Amna Ally, M.P.

Miss Judith David, M.P.

From the Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (1)

Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.

(v) <u>COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES</u>

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (4)

The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., Minister of the Public Service

The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

Mr. Heeralall Mohan, J.P., M.P.