## COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# OF THE 3<sup>RD</sup> MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2001) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

## AT 4.05 P.M.

# ON THURSDAY, 29<sup>TH</sup> NOVEMBER, 2001

## IN THE SPEAKER'S OFFICE, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

## **ATTENDANCE**

## **MEMBERS**

## Chairman

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

## Other Members

## From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

#### From the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent – on leave)

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

## **OFFICER**

Mr. Frank A. Narain, C.C.H., Clerk of the National Assembly

## COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 4.05 p.m.

#### **PURPOSE OF MEETING**

The purpose of the Meeting was to enable the Committee of Selection to nominate the Members to comprise the Special Select Committee to which the Medical Practitioners (Amendment) Bill 2001 (Bill No. 13 of 2001) had been referred by the National Assembly, following its second reading earlier that day.

#### NOMINATIONS MADE

On proposals by the Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, and Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Opposition Chief Whip, the Committee of Selection nominated the following Members to comprise the Special Select Committee to consider the Medical Practitioners (Amendment) Bill 2001 (Bill No. 13 of 2001):-

#### Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (6)

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P.

## Members from the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P.

Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.

# Member from the Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (1)

Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.

## **TERMINATION OF MEETING**

There being no further business, the Meeting of the Committee of Selection ended at 4.10 p.m.

HARI N. RAMKARRAN Speaker of the National Assembly Chairman of the Committee of Selection

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

29th November, 2001