National Assembly Debates

PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2001) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUY-ANA UNDER THE CONSTITUTION OF THE CO-OPERATIVE REPUB-LIC OF GUYANA

4th SITTING

14:00h

Thursday, 7th June, 2001

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (67)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S. C., M. P. - Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (35)

The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P.

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P. - Minister of Parliamentary Affairs The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P.

- Minister of Foreign Trade and

- Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communication

International Co-operation (Absent)

The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P.

- Minister of Local Government

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P.

and Regional Development - Minister of Culture Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P.

- Minister of Education (Absent-on Leave)

The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P.

- Minister of Finance

The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P.

- Minister of Housing and Water

The Hon. Navindranauth O. Chandarpal, M.P.

- Minister of Agriculture (Absent) (Region No.4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

- Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P.

(Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/ West Demerara)

The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P. - Minister of Labour, Human

Services and Social Security

The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P.

- Minister in the Ministry of Local

Government and Regional Development

Thursday, 7th June , 2001

Thursday, 7th June, 2001	
The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P.	- Minister of Fisheries, Other Crops and Livestock (Region No.5-Mahaica/Berbice)
*The Hon.S.Rudolph Insanally, O.R, C.C.H, M.P.	- Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Foreign Affairs
The Hon, Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P.	- Minister of the Public Service
The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P.	 Minister of Transport and Hydraulics (Absent)
The Hon. Bibi S.Shadick, M.P.	- Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/ West Demerara)
The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P.	- Minister of Amerindian Affairs
The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.I	Minister of Health
Mr S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P.	- Chief Whip
Mr Cyril C. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.	- (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.	,
Mr Husman Alli, M.P.	- (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.	
Mrs Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.	- (Absent)
Mr Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P.	- (Region No.4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Mrs Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.	
Mr Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.	
Mr Heeralall Mohan, M.P.	
Mr Ramesh C. Rajkumar, M.P.	- (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/ Corentyne)
Mr Kumkaran Ramdas, M.P.	
Mr Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.	- (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/ Corentyne)
Dr Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P.	
Mrs Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H, J.P, M.F	
Mrs Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P.	- (Region No.1 - Barima/Waini)
Members of the Opposition (31)	
(i) People's National Congress/Reform (27)	
Mr. Hugh Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P.	- Leader of the Opposition
Mr. Robert H. O. Corbin, M.P.	
Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.	Description of the Nethernal
Mrs Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P.	 Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
Mr E. Lance Carberry, M.P.	
Mr Ivor Allen, M.P.	 (Region No. 2-Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent - on Leave)
* Non-Elected Minister 04/	2

Thursday, 7th June, 2001

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.

Mr. C. Stanley Ming, M.P.

Mr. Raphael G. C. Trotman, M.P.

Mr Vincent L. Alexander, M.P.

- (Absent - on Leave)

- (Region No.4-Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Andy Goveia, M.P.

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P. Dr Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P.

Miss Amna Ally, M.P.

Miss Sandra M. Adams, M.P.

- (Absent)

- (Region No.5-Mahaica (Berbice)

- (Region No.10-Upper Demerara)

Berbice)

Mr. Jerome Khan, M.P.

Dr George A. Norton, M.P.

Miss Myrna E. N. Peterkin, M.P. Mr. James K. McAllister, M.P.

Miss Lurlene A. Nestor, M.P. Mr Abdul Kadir, J.P., M.P.

Mr Ricky Khan, M.P.

Mrs. R. Bancroft, M.P. Mr Nasir Ally, J.P., M.P.

Miss Judith David, M.P. Miss Genevieve Allen, M.P. - (Region No.4-Demerara/Mahaica)

- (Region No.3-Essequibo Islands West Demerara (Absent)

- (Region No. 4-Demerara/Mahaica)

- (Region No.10 - Upper Demerara/ Berbice) (Absent)

- (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) (Absent- on Leave)

- (Region No.8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

- (Region No.6 - East Berbice/

Corentyne)

- (Region No.7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni). - (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

(ii) Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance Party (2)

Mrs Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.

Mrs Shirley J. Melville, M.P.

- (Region No.9 Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

(iii) Rise, Organise and Rebuild Party (1)

Mr Ravindra Dev, M.P.

(iv) The United Force Party (1)

Mr Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

- (Absent)

OFFICERS

Mr Frank A. Narain, C.C.H. - Clerk of the National Assembly Mr Sherlock E. Isaacs - Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly 14:00h

The Clerk read the Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Speaker: Hon Members, leave has been granted to the Hon Dr Henry Jeffrey, and the Hon Members Mr Ivor Allen and Mr Ricky Khan for today's Sitting.

REQUEST FOR LEAVE TO MOVE THE ADJOURNMENT OF THE ASSEMBLY ON DEFINITE MATTERS OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE

The Speaker: Hon Member, Mr Corbin.

Mr Robert Corbin; Mr Speaker, I had written you earlier today indicating my intention to move the adjournment of the National Assembly on a definite matters of urgent importance, to wit, the implementation of the recommendations in the final report of the Oversight Committee on constitutional reform. This matter became urgent as we believe that the Bill which would have been taken through its second stages, Bill No. 7, that is, Constitution Amendment Bill No. 4/2001 had inserted in it a proviso which was not part of that recommendation. However, at the time I had written you I did indicate that I had no information as to whether the Government had proposed to proceed with the second reading of the Bill this afternoon. But since writing the letter I have been assured that the Bill will not be proceeded with this afternoon, and the other matters dealing with the other Constitution Bills also will not be proceeded with this afternoon. We hope that when it does come before this House for passage through its second stage, the proviso which gave rise to the need for this motion will no longer be there. I therefore wish to withdraw my request to move the motion since, as I said, we hope that this matter will be resolved when it comes again before this Assembly.

The Speaker: Thank you, Hon Member.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

- (i) Constitution (Amendment) (No. 4) Bill 2001 Bill No. 7/2001
- (ii) Constitution (Amendment) (No. 5) Bill 2001 Bill No. 8/2001
- (iii) Constitution (Amendment) (No. 6) Bill 2001 Bill No. 9/2001
- (iv) Seventh Parliament of the Co-operative Republic of Guy ana (Constitution and Proceedings) Validation Bill 2001 - Bill No. 5/2001

Hon Reepu Daman Persaud: Mr Speaker, I wish to crave your indulgence and leave to move that the Bills listed on today's Order Paper be deferred to a next Sitting to make allowance for discussion and consultation. This has been discussed before and I trust that you will grant your leave so that it be deferred to next Thursday.

The Speaker: The Bills are duly deferred to next Thursday.

ADJOURNMENT

Hon Reepu Daman Persaud: I therefore move, Mr Speaker, that the National Assembly stand adjourned to next Thursday at 2:00 p.m.

The Speaker: The National Assembly is so adjourned.

Adjourned accordingly at 14:09h