National Assembly Debates

PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2008) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA UNDER THE CONSTITUTION OF THE CO-OPERATIVE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA HELD IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

57TH Sitting

14:00h

Thursday 17 July 2008

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (70)

Speaker (1)

The Hon Hari N Ramkarran SC, MP

Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government (41)

People's Progressive Party/Civic (40)

The United Force (1)

The Hon Samuel A A Hinds MP

(R# 10 - U Demerara/U Berbice)

Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and

Communications

The Hon Clement J Rohee MP

Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon Shaik K Z Baksh MP - (Absent)

Minister of Education

The Hon Dr Henry B Jeffrey MP - (Absent)

Minister of Foreign Trade and International Cooperation

The Hon Dr Leslie S Ramsammy MP

(R# 6 - E Berbice/Corentyne)

Minister of Health

The Hon Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett MP (AOL)

(R#9 - U Takutu/U Esseq)

Minister of Foreign Affairs

*The Hon Dr Ashni Singh MP

Minister of Finance

The Hon Harry Narine Nawbatt MP

Minister of Housing and Water

The Hon Robert M Persaud MP - (Absent)

(R# 6 - E Berbice/Corentyne)

Minister of Agriculture

The Hon Dr Jennifer R A Westford MP

(R#7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Minister of the Public Service

The Hon Kellawan Lall MP

Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

*The Hon Doodnauth Singh SC, MP

Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

The Hon Dr Frank C S Anthony MP

Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon B H Robeson Benn MP

- (Absent)

Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

**The Hon Manzoor Nadir MP

Minister of Labour

The Hon Priya D Manickchand MP

- *(AOL)*

(R# 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Minister of Human Services and Social Security

The Hon Dr Desrey Fox MP

- *(AOL)*

Minister in the Ministry of Education

The Hon Bheri S Ramsaran MD, MP

Minister in the Ministry of Health

*Non-elected Minister **Elected Member from TUF

The Hon Jennifer I Webster MP

Minister in the Ministry of Finance

The Hon Manniram Prashad MP - (Absent)

Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce

Mr Donald Ramotar MP

The Hon Gail Teixeira MP

Mr Harripersaud Nokta MP

Mrs Indranie Chandarpal MP, Chief Whip - (Absent)

Ms Bibi S Shadick MP

(R# 3 – Essequibo Is/W Demerara)

Mr Mohamed Irfaan Ali MP

Mr Albert Atkinson JP, MP

(R#8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

Mr Komal Chand CCH, JP, MP

(R# 3 - Essequibo Is/W Demerara)

Mr Bernard C DeSantos SC, MP

(R#4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs Shirley V Edwards JP, MP

(R#4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr Mohamed F Khan JP, MP

(R# 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam

Mr Odinga N Lumumba MP - (AOL)

Mr Moses V Nagamootoo JP, MP

Mr Mohabir A Nandlall MP

Mr Neendkumar JP, MP

(R#4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

*** Mr Steve P Ninvalle MP - (AOL)

Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport

Mr Parmanand P Persaud JP, MP

(R# 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mrs Philomena Sahoye-Shury CCH, JP, MP

Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Housing and Water

***Non-elected Member

*Mrs Pauline R Sukhai MP - (Absent)

Minister of Amerindian Affairs

Mr Dharamkumar Seeraj MP

Mr Norman A Whittaker MP

(R# 1 - Barima/Waini)

Members of the Opposition (28)

(i) People's National Congress Reform 1-Guyana (22)

Mr Robert HO Corbin

Leader of the Opposition

Mr Winston S Murray CCH, MP

Mrs Clarissa S Riehl MP

Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr E Lance Carberry MP

Chief Whip

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer MP

Mr Anthony Vieira - (AOL)

Mr Basil Williams MP

Dr George A Norton MP

Mrs Volda A Lawrence MP - (AOL)

Mr Keith Scott MP

Miss Amna Ally MP

Mr James K McAllister MP - (Absent)

Mr Dave Danny MP - (AOL)

(R# 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr Aubrey C Norton MP - (Absent)

(R# 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr Ernest B Elliot MP - (AOL)

(R#4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Miss Judith David-Blair MP

(R#7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr Mervyn Williams MP

(Re# 3 - Essequibo Is/W Demerara)

Ms Africo Selman MP

Dr John Austin MP

(R# 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Ms Jennifer Wade MP

(R# 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Ms Vanessa Kissoon MP

(R# 10 - U Demerara/U Berbice)

Mr Desmond Fernandes MP

(Region No 1 – Barima/Waini)

(ii) Alliance For Change (5)

Mr Raphael G Trotman MP

Mr Khemraj Ramjattan MP

Mrs Sheila VA Holder MP - (AOL)

Ms Latchmin B Punalall, MP

(R# 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr David Patterson MP

(iii) Guyana Action Party/Rise Organise and Rebuild (1)

Mr Everall N Franklin MP

- (AOL)

OFFICERS

Mr Sherlock E Isaacs

Clerk of the National Assembly

Mrs Lilawatie Coonjah

Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

[The Clerk reads the Prayers]

ANNOUNCEMTNS BY THE SPEAKER

Death of Ms Mavernie Richardson, former Cleaner of the Parliament Office and Expression of Sympathy

Honourable Members, Ms Mavernie Richardson, Cleaner of the Parliament Office, who was responsible for the continuous high standard in the cleaning of the Parliament Chamber and the adjoining chambers for the past fifteen years passed away on Wednesday, 16 July 2008, after a brief illness. On behalf of the Members of the National Assembly and myself, I would like to express deepest sympathy to the relatives of the late Ms Richardson.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS:

By the *Minister of Finance:*

The Excise Tax (Amendment) Regulations 2008 - No 14 of 2008

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Readings

(1) THE EVIDENCE AND MOTOR VEHICLES AND ROAD TRAFFIC (AMENDMENT) BILL 2008 - Bill No. 8/2008

By the Minister of Home Affairs

(2) PREVENTATION OF CRIMES (AMENDMENT)
BILL - Bill No. 9/2008

By the *Minister of Home Affairs*

- (3) MOTOR VEHICLES AND ROAD TRAFFIC

 (AMENDMENT) BILL 2008 Bill No. 10/2008

 By the Minister of Home Affairs
- (4) SUMMARY JURISDICTION (OFFENCES)

 (AMENDMENT) BILL Bill No. 11/2008

 By the Minister of Home Affairs

(5) COURT OF APPEAL (AMENDMENT) BILL - Bill No. 12/2008

By the Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

(6) TAX (AMENDMENTO BILL 2008 - Bill No. 13/2008

By the Minister of Finance

The Speaker: Honourable Members, this brings us to an end of our business for toady.

The Honourable Prime Minister

Hon Samuel AA Hinds: Mr Speaker, I wish to move that the National Assembly stands adjourn to next Thursday, 24 July 2008.

The Speaker: The House is adjourned to next Thursday, 24 July 2008. Thank you very much.

Adjourned Accordingly at 14:08h