FIRST SESSION

1973

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 11th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

MONDAY, 29TH OCTOBER, 1973

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

<u>Speaker</u>

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (50)

Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister (2)

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture

Senior Ministers (7)

- The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications
- # The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and
- # The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation
- # The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)
- # The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance # Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic Development
- # The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing

Ministers (6)

- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour
- The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information and Culture
- The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- # The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education
- # Dr. the Honourable O.M.R. Harper, Minister of Health (Absent)
- # The Honourable G.A. King, Minister of Trade (Absent)

Ministers of State (9)

- The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of State - Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne)
- The Honourable P. Duncan, J.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi)
- # Non elected Minister

- The Honourable C.A. Nascimento, Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- The Honourable M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- # The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for Home Affairs
- # The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of State Regional (Mazarumi/ Potaro)

Parliamentary Secretaries (8)

- $\mbox{Mr. J.R.}$ Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing
- Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications
- Miss M.M. Ackman, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Mr. E.L. Ambrose, Parliamentary Secretary (Agriculture), Ministry of National Development and Agriculture
- Mr. K.B. Bancroft, Parliamentary Secretary (Hinterland), Ministry of National Development and Agriculture
- Mr. 5. Prashad, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation
- Mr. J.P. Chowritmootoo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education
- Mr. R.H.O. Corbin, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation

Other Members (18)

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Miss J. Gill

Mr. W. Hussain

Miss S. Jaiserrisingh

Mr. K.M.E. Jonas

Mr. M. Nissar

Dr. L.E. Ramsahoye

Mr. J.G. Ramson

Mrs. P.A. Rayman

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P.

Mr. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P.

Mr. C. Sukul, J.P.

Mr. H.A. Taylor

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mrs. L.E. Willems

Members of the Opposition - Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, Deputy Speaker

Mrs. E. DaSilva

OFF ICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. M.B. Henry, AMBIM, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

Non elected Minister

The oath of office was made and subscribed by the Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice, who was thereafter congratulated by His Honour the Speaker.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 2.06 p.m. the sitting was suspended to enable the Speaker to receive Their Excellencies the President and Mrs. Chung.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 2.35 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

ARRIVAL OF THEIR EXCELLENCIES THE PRESIDENT AND MRS. CHUNG

Their Excellencies the President and Mrs. Chung entered the Chamber and took their places on the dais.

ADDRESS BY HIS EXCELLENCY THE PRESIDENT

His Excellency read the Address for the First Session of the Third Parliament presented to him by the Prime Minister and, thereafter, presented the copy to His Honour the Speaker.

THANKS TO HIS EXCELLENCY

His Honour the Speaker, on behalf of the Members of the Assembly, thanked His Excellency.

WITHDRAWAL UF THEIR EXCELLENCIES THE PRESIDENT AND MRS. CHUNG

Thereafter, Their Excellencies withdrew from the Chamber.

PRESENTATION OF THE PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS TO THE ASSEMBLY

His Honour the Speaker presented the President's Address to the Assembly.

ADJUURNMENT

At 3.00 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Tuesday, the 6th of November, 1973.

S. NARAIN 3: 1,73

Sp aker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 3rd November, 1973.