FIRST SESSION

1973

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 19th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 13TH DECEMBER, 1973

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (50)

Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister (2)

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture

Senior Ministers (7)

The Honourable H.D. Mayte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications (Absent - on leave)

- # The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice (Absent)
- # The Honourable H. Green, Minister ofCo-operatives and National Mobilisation
- # The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
- $^{\it H}_{\it r}$ The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance
- # Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic Development
- # The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing

Ministers (6)

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour

The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information and Culture

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House

- # The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education
- # Dr. the Honourable O.M.R. Harper, Minister of Health
- # The Honourable G.A. King, Minister of Trade

Ministers of State (9)

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture
(Absent - on leave)

The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of State - Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne) (Absent)

The Honourable P. Duncan, J.P., Minister of State - Regional (Rupununi) (Absent - on leave)

* Non elected Minister

- The Honourable C.A. Nascimento, Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- The Honourable M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara) (Absent)
- # The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for Home Affairs
- # The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/ Potaro) (Absent)
- # The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of State Regional (East
 Demerara/West Coast Berbice) (Absent)

Parliamentary Secretaries (8)

- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing
- Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications (Absent on leave)
- Miss M.M. Ackman, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Mr. E.L. Ambrose, Parliamentary Secretary (Agriculture) Ministry of National Development and Agriculture
- Mr. K.B. Bancroft, Parliamentary Secretary (Hinterland),
 Ministry of National Development and Agriculture (Absent on
 leave)
- Mr. S. Prashad, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation
- Mr. J.P. Chowritmootoo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education
- Mr. R.H.O. Corbin, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation

Other Members (18)

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Miss J. Gill

Mr. W. Hussain

Miss 5. Jaiserrisingh

Mr. K.M.E. Jonas

Mr. M. Nissar

Dr. L.E. Ramsahoye (Absent - on leave)

Mr. J.G. Ramson

Mrs. P.A. Rayman

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P.

Mr. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P.

Mr. C. Sukul, J.P.

Mr. H.A. Taylor

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mrs. L.E. Willems

Members of the Opposition - Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, Deputy Speaker (Absent - on leave)
Mrs. E. DaSilva

OFFICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. M.B. Henry, AMBIM, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

Non elected Minister

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>Leave</u>

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to $\boldsymbol{\mathsf{-}}$

- (a) Mr. Burnham for 13th and 14th December, 1973, and
- (b) Mr. Kasim and Mr. Singh for that day's sitting.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPURTS, ETC.

By the Minister of Information and Culture, on behalf of
the Prime Minister:

Annual Report of the Guyana Telecommunication Corporation for the year 1971.

(GSC: 9/8/1)(Circulated)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTIGN

APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1974

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1974, totalling \$337,303,105. (See Appendix to the Minutes of 10th December, 1973).

The Minister of Economic Development, Mrs. DaSilva, and Mr. Prashad, Praliementary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation, spoke to the motion.

ADJUU.RNMENT

At 3.50 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, the 14th of December, 1973.

5. NARAIN

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 14th December, 1973.