#### FIRST SESSION

# 1973 - 1974

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 39th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 18TH JULY, 1974

With the Deputy Speaker in the Chair

#### MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### Speaker

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P. (Absent - on leave)

# Members of the Government - People's National Congress (50) Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister (2)

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture

# Senior Ministers (7)

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications
(Absent - on leave)

- \* The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice (Absent)
- \* The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation (Absent)
- \* The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
  (Absent)
- \* The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance
- \* Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic Development (Absent)
- \* The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing

#### Ministers (6)

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour

The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information and Culture

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House

- \* The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education and Social Development (Absent)
- \* Dr. the Honourable O.M.R. Harper, Minister of Health (Absent)
- \* The Honourable G.A. King, Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent on leave)

# Ministers of State (9)

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of State - Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne) (Absent on leave)

\* Non elected Minister

- The Honourable P. Duncan, J.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi) (Absent)
- The Honourable C.A. Nascimento, Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- The Honourable M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara) (Absent)
- \* The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for Home Affairs
- \* The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/ Potaro) (Absent)
- \* The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of State Regional (East
- Demerara/West Coast Berbice) (Absent)
  \* The Honourable F.U.A. Carmichael, Minister of State Regional (North West) (Absent)

# Parliamentary Secretaries (8)

- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing (Absent)
- Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications
- Miss M.M. Ackman, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip (Absent)
- Mr. E.L. Ambrose, Parliamentary Secretary (Agriculture), Ministry of National Development and Agriculture
- Mr. K.B. Bancroft, Parliamentary Secretary (Hinterland), Ministry of National Development and Agriculture
- Mr. S. Prashad, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation
- Mr. J.P. Chowritmootoo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education (Absent on leave)
- Mr. R.H.O. Corbin, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation

# Deputy Speaker (1)

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman, Deputy Speaker

# Other Members (17)

Mr. J.N. Amon

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Miss J. Gill

Mr. W. Hussain

Miss S. Jaiserrisingh

Mr. K.M.E. Jonas

Mr. M. Nissar

Dr. L.E. Ramsahoye

Mr. J.G. Ramson

Mrs. P.A. Rayman (Absent - on leave)

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P.

Mr. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P.

Mr. C. Sukul, J.P.

Mr. H.A. Taylor (Absent)

Mrs. L.E. Willems

# Members of the Opposition - Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, Leader of the Opposition (Absent - on leave) Mrs. E. DaSilva

# OFFICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly (Absent - on leave) Mr. M.B. Henry, AMBIM, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

<sup>\*</sup> Non elected Minister

# PRAYERS

The Deputy Clerk read Prayers.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

#### Leave

His Honour the Deputy Speaker announced that the Speaker was unable to be present at that day's sitting and had, therefore, requested to be excused.

His Honour also announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Mr. Burnham up to 20th July, 1974,
- (b) Mr. Hoyte, Mr. Clarke, Mr. Chowritmootoo and Mrs. Rayman for that day's sitting, and
- (c) Mr. Singh up to 26th July, 1974.

#### PRESENTATION OF PETITIONS

#### Private Bill

The Deputy Clerk read the Petition presented by Mrs. Branco, on behalf of Rev. Compton Wharton of 177 James Street, Albouystown, Georgetown, and Rev. Lennox Réece of 56 William Street, Kitty, Ceorgetown, seeking to have introduced in the Assembly a Private Bill to incorporate the Church of God of Prophecy.

(PARL: 3/2/2(5/1966)

The question that the promoters be allowed to proceed was put and carried.

#### PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS. ETC.

(1) By the <u>Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of</u> the House, on behalf of the <u>Minister of Works and</u> and <u>Communications</u>:

Rates of Postage (Surface Mail and Fees for Services) Order 1974 (No. 81), made under section 16 of the Post and Telegraph Act, Chapter 47:01, on the 24th of June, 1974, and published in the Gazette on the 29th of June, 1974.

(PO: 23/1 II)

(2) By the Minister of Finance:

Sugar Levy Regulations 1974 (No. 9), made under section 7 of the Sugar Levy Act 1974 (No. 22), on the 8th of July, 1974, and published in the Gazette on the 9th of July, 1974.

(F 1)

### INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

# Presentation and First Reading

(1.) NATIONAL SCIENCE RESEARCH COUNCIL BILL 1974 - Bill No. 23/1974

The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, on behalf of the Minister of Economic Development, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

- A BILL intituled AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT AND INCORPORATION OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE RESEARCH COUNCIL AND FOR PURPOSES CONNECTED THEREWITH.
- (2) CHURCH OF GOD IN GUYANA (INCORPORATION) BILL 1974 Bill No. 19/1974 published 22.6.74. 29.6.74 and 6.7.74

Mr. Aaron presented the following Private Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO INCORPORATE
THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE CHURCH
OF GOD IN GUYANA TO HOLD THE PROPERTY
IN GUYANA OF THE MISSIONARY BOARD OF
THE CHURCH OF GOD AND FOR PURPOSES
CONNECTED THEREWITH.

#### PUBLIC BUSINESS

# BILL - Second and Third Readings

PENSIONS PRESIDENT OFFICES AMENDMENT BILL 1974 - Bill No. 22/1974 published 6.7.74

In accordance with article 80(2) of the Constitution, the Minister of Finance signified Cabinet's recommendation and moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE PENSIONS (PRESIDENT, PARLIAMENTARY AND SPECIAL OFFICES) ACT.

Mrs. DaSilva spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the Minister of Finance replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was then read a second time, and was, thereafter, taken through its remaining stages and passed as printed.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

At 3.15 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly urned to a date to be fixed.

R.C. VAN SLUYTMAN Deputy Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 22nd July, 1974.