THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1974

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 47th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 10.00 A.M.

UN

MONDAY, 11TH NOVEMBER, 1974

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (50)

Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister (2)

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (8)

- The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Economic Development
- # The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice
- # The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation
- # The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
- # The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance
- # The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Works and Housing
- # The Honourable G.A. King, Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
- # The Honourable G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)

Ministers (5)

- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour (Absent)
- The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information and Culture
- The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- # The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education and Social Development
- # Dr. the Honourable D.M.R. Harper, Minister of Health

Ministers of State (10)

- The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture
- The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of State Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne)
- The Honourable P. Duncan, J.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi) (Absent on leave)
- The Honourable C.A. Nascimento, Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- The Honourable M. Zaheeruddean, J.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- # Non elected Minister

- The Honourable K.B. Bancroft, Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)
- # The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for Home Affairs
- # The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of State for Consumer Protection (Absent)

Parliementary Secretaries (7)

- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Housing
- Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Housing
- Miss M.M. Ackman, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Mr. E.L. Ambrose, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Mr. S. Prashad, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation
- Mr. J.P. Chowritmootoo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education and Social Development
- Mr. R.H.O. Corbin, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Deputy Speaker (1)

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman, Deputy Speaker

Other Members (17)

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Mrs. L.M. Branco

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Miss J. Gill

Mr. W. Hussain

Miss 5. Jaiserrisingh

Mr. K.M.E. Jonas 🧳

Mr. M. Nissar

Dr. L.E. Ramsahoye

Mr. J.G. Ramson

Mrs. P.A. Rayman

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. (Absent)

Mr. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P.

Mr. C. Sukul, J.P.

Mr. H.A. Taylor (Absent)

Mrs. L.E. Willems

Members of the Opposition - Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, Leader of the Opposition Mrs. E. DaSilva

OFFICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. M.B. Henry, AMBIM, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

Non elected Minister

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 10.05 a.m. the sitting was suspended to enable His Honour the Speaker to receive Their Excellencies the President of the Republic of Liberia, Dr. William R. Tolbert, Jr., and Mrs. Tolbert.

ARRIVAL OF THEIR EXCELLENCIES THE PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF LIBERIA AND MRS. TOLBERT

Their Excellencies the President of the Republic of Liberia, Dr. William R. Tolbert, Jr., and Mrs. Tolbert entered the Chamber and took their places on the Dais.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 10.30 a.m. the sitting was resumed.

ADDRESSES OF WELCOME TO THEIR EXCELLENCIES

Addresses of Welcome to Their Excellencies were made by -

- (i) His Honour the Speaker
- (ii) The Prime Minister, and
- (iii) The Leader of the Opposition.

ADDRESS BY HIS EXCELLENCY

Thereafter, His Excellency the President of the Republic of Liberia addressed the Assembly.

ADDRESS OF THANKS

The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, on behalf of the Members of the Assembly, thanked His Excellency.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

At 11.30 a.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,
Public Buildings,

Georgetown. 19th November, 1974.