FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1974

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 50th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

FRIDAY, 13TH DECEMBER, 1974

#### MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### <u>Speaker</u>

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

<u>Members of the Government - People's National Congress (55)</u>

Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister (2)

The Honourable L.F.S. Surnham, O.E., S.C., Prime Minister (Absent) Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

<u>Senior Ministers (8)</u>

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Economic Development # The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice (Absent)

# The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation (Absent)

- # The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance
- # The Honourable 5.5. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Works and Housing
- # The Honourable G.A. King, Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
  - (Absent on leave)

# The Honourable G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., Minister of Agriculture

Ministers <u>(</u>5<u>)</u>

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour

The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information and Culture (Absent)

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House

- # The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education and Social Development
- # Dr. the Honourable O.M.R. Harper, Minister of Health (Absent)  $\degree$

Ministers of State (10)

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of State - Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne) (Absent)

- The Honourable P. Duncan, J.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi)
- The Honourable C.A. Nascimento, Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister

# Non elected Minister

```
The Honourable M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P., Minister of State - Regional
       (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara) (Absent)
   The Honourable K.B. Bancroft, Minister of State - Regional (Mazaruni/
       Potaro)
 # The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for Home Affairs (Absent)
 # The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of State for Consumer Protection
                                                                   (Absent)
 # The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of State - Regional (East Demerara/
       West Coast Berbice) (Absent)
.# The Honourable F.U.A. Carmichael, Minister of State - Regional
       (North West)
   <u>Parliamentary</u> Secretaries (7)
   Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and
       Housing (Absent)
   Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works
       and Housing
   Miss M.M. Ackman, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime
       Minister, and Government Chief Whip
   Mr. E.L. Ambrose, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
   Mr. S. Prashad, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives
       and National Mobilisation
   Mr. J.P. Chowritmootoo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of
       Education and Social Development
   Mr. R.H.O. Corbin, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime
       Minister (Absent)
   Deputy Speaker (1)
   Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman, Deputy Speaker
   Other Members (17)
   Mr. J.N. Aaron
   Mrs. L.M. Branco
   Mr. M. Corrica
   Mr. E.H.A. Fowler
   Miss J. Gill
   Mr. W. Hussain
   Miss S. Jaiserrisingh
   Mr. K.M.E. Jonas 🗸
   Mr. M. Nissar
   Dr. L.E. Ramsahoye (Absent)
   Mr. J.G. Ramson
   Mrs. P.A. Rayman
   Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. (Absent)
   Mr. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P.
   Mir. C. Sukul, J.P.
   Mr. H.A. Taylor
   Mrs. L.E. Willems
          <u>Members of the Opposition - Liberator Party (2)</u>
   Mr. M.F. Singh, Leader of the Opposition
   Mrs. E. DaSilva
                                 OFFICERS
   Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly
   Mr. M.B. Henry, AMBIM, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly
```

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

# Non elected Minister

## ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

# Tenth Anniversary of the Government of Guyana under the People's National Congress

His Honour the Speaker briefly outlined the achievements of the Government of the People's National Congress under the Leadership of the Prime Minister, the Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., for the past ten years.

## PUBLIC BUSINESS

#### MOTION

## APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1975

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1975, totalling \$458,687,527. (See Appendix to Minutes of the 9th of December, 1974).

The Leader of the Opposition and the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development spoke to the *d*otion.

## ADJOURNMENT

At 5.20 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Economic Development, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Monday, the 16th of December, 1974.

S. NARAIN 6/11/2

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

16th December, 1974.