FIRST SESSION

1973 1977

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 133rd Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

 $\cap N$

THURSDAY, 15th DECEMBER, 1977

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (48)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister(Absent - on leave) Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development (Absent - on leave)

Senior Ministers (8)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde.H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)
- C de. H.O. Jack, M.P. Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)
- Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport Cde. G.A. King, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- * Cde. F.R. Wills, S.C., M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice (Absent)

Ministers (4)

- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P., Minister of Information
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- * Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Absent)
- Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent)

/ ...

^{*}Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (9)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne) (Absent - on leave)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro) (Absent)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara) (Absent on leave)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development (Absent)
- * Cde. A. Salim, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice) (Absent)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture

Other Members (21)

- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P.
- Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P.
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. S. Jaiserrisingh, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. M. Kasim, A.A., M.P.
- Cde. M. Nissar, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Ramsahoye, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- **de. R.C. Van Sluytman, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddoen, M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16).

(i) Pcople's Progressive Party (14).

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. Mrs. E. Da Silva, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain)
Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (i) Cdes. Burnham, Reid, Clarke, Chowritmootoo and Mohamed for that day's sitting; and
- (ii) Cde. Jaiserrisingh for the period 1st to 31st December, 1977.

PRESENTATION OF PARERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

(1) By the Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives:

Annual Report and Audited Accounts of the Guyana National Science Research Council for the year 1976.

Ec.D. 25/4/1/16)(Circulated)

- (2) By the <u>Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives</u>, on behalf of the Minister of Finance
 - (i) Agreement dated 25th August, 1977 between the Caribbean Development Bank and the Government of Guyana, in connection with a loan to assist in financing a study of the feasibility of establishing a clinker-grinding and/or cement-packing facility (Loan No. 1/SFR-GU).

(F. 58/20)(Circulated)

(ii) Agreement dated 10th September, 1977, between the Government of Canada and the Government of Guyana, in connection with a development loan for the purchase of laboratory equipment for an Institute of Applied Science and Technology.

(G. 58/18)(Circulated)

(3) By Cde. N. Persaud, Chairman, Public Accounts Committee:

Report of the Public Accounts Committee of the National Assembly on the Public Accounts for **tho** year 1966 and on the Report of the Director of Audit thereon•

(PARL: 5/6/A/2^{II})(Circulated)

REQUESTS FOR LEAVE TO MOVE THE ADJOURNMENT OF THE ASSEMBLY ON DEFINITE MATTERS OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE

Matter relating to the strike in the Sugar Industry

The Leader of the Opposition sought leave to move the adjournmen of the Assembly for the purpose of discussing the strike in the sugar industry.

The Speaker did not allow the claim as he was not satisfied that the matter qualified as one to be raised on a motion for the adjournment o the Assembly.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

(1) TRANSPORT AND HARBOURS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1971
Bill No. 25/1977 published 3.12.77

The Minister of Works and Transport, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

- A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE TRANSPORT AND HARBOURS ACT.
- (2) WEST INDIES SHIPPING CORPORATION BILL 1977 Bill No. 26/1977 published 10.12.77

The Minister of Works and Transport, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO ENABLE THE IMPLEMENTATION BY GUYANA OF THE AGREEMENT ESTABLISHING THE WEST INDIES SHIPPING CORPORATION AND FOR PURPOSES CONNECTED THEREWITH.

(3) MAHAICA-MAHAICONY-ABARY AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT
AUTHORITY BILL 1977 - Bill No. No. 27/1977 Published
10.12.77

The Minister of Agriculture, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

- A BILL intituled AN ACT TO MAKE PROVISION. FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT AND FUNCTIONS OF THE MAHAICA-MAHAICONY-ABARY AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY AND FOR PURPOSES CONNECTED THEREWITH.
- (4) GUYANA SUGAR PRODUCERS' ASSOCIATION LIMITED (DISSOLUTION)
 BILL 1977 Bill No. 28/1977 published 17.12.77

The Minister of Agriculture, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO DISSOLVE THE GUYANA SUGAR PRODUCERS! ASSOCIATION LIMITED AND TO MAKE PROVISION FOR MATTERS INCIDENTAL THERETO OR CONNECTED WITH.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.40 p.m. on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 22nd December, 1977.

Speaker 19.12.7

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 19th December, 1977.