FIRST SESSION

1973 1977

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 135th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

UN!

THURSDAY, 29TH DECEMBER, 1977

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (48)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

<u>Deputy Prime Minister (1)</u>

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development (Absent - on leave)

Senior Ministers (8)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives (Absent - on leave)
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour
- Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
- Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- Cde. G.A. King, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture Cde. F.R. Wills, S.C., M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice (Absent)

Ministers (4)

- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P., Minister of Information
- Cde. B. Ramsacoop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent)

Ministers of State (9)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne)(Absent - on leave)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)(Absent on leave)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Health, Housing and Labour
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development
- * Cde. A. Salim, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West) (Absent)

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture

Other Members (21)

- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P.
- Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. S. Jaiserrisingh, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. M. Kasim, A.A., M.P.
- Cde. M. Nissar, M.P.
- Cde, L.E. Ramsahoye, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P. (Absent)
- Cdo. R.C. Van Sluytman, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P.
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P., (Absent - on leave)

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. Mrs. E. Da Silva, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) Apology for late commencement of Sitting

The Speaker apologised for the late commencement of the Sitting and stated that this was because he was engaged in discussions on the business of the Assembly with the Leader of the Opposition:

(ii) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave from that Sitting had been granted to Cdes. Burnham, Reid, Hoyte, Clarke, Bancroft, Carrington and Dindayal.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the <u>Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection</u>, on behalf of the Prime Minister:

Guyana Housing Corporation (Dissolution)
Order 1977, made under section 63 of
the Public Corporations Act, Chapter
19:05, on the 21st of December, 1977.

(GSC: 7/100/1)(Circulated)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Second and Third Readings

ITEM 1 - DRAINAGE AND IRRIGATION (AMENDMENT) BILL 1977 - Bill No. 29/1977 published 21.12.77

The Minister of Agriculture moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE DRAINAGE AND IRRIGATION ACT.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Agriculture replied.

The Motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was thereafter taken through its remaining stages and passed as printed.

MOTION

ITEM 2 - APPROVAL OF GUYANA HOUSING CORPORATION (DISSOLUTION) ORDER 1977

The Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly, in terms of section 63(1) of the Public Corporations Act, Chapter 15:05, approve of the Guyana Housing Corporation (Cissolution) Order 1977, which was made by the Prime Minister on 21st December, 1977.

Cde. Collymore and Mr. Singh spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection replied.

SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDER NO. 9(2)

On a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House Standing Order No. 9(2) was suspended at this stage to enable the sitting to continue without being suspended at 4.00 p.m.

RESUMPTION OF MOTION TO APPROVE THE GUYANA HOUSING CORPORATION (DISSOLUTION) ORDER 1977

The following motion was put and carried.

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly, in terms of section 63(1) of the Public Corporations Act, Chapter 19:05, approve of the Guyana Housing Corporation (Dissolution) Order 1977, which was made by the Prime Minister on 21st December 1977.

NEW YEAR GREETINGS

The Speaker thanked Members for their co-operation during the year and extended best wishes to them and to their families for the New Year.

The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud and Mr. M.F. Singh, on behalf of their respective Parties, thanked the Speaker and reciprocated the good wishes to him and to his family and also extended good wishes to the other Members of the Assembly, to the Staff of the Parliament Office and to the representative of the the Press.

ADJOURNMENT

At 4.09 p.m. on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to S. NARAIN 4.1.78
Speaker a date to be fixed.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings. Georgetown. 4th January, 1978.