FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1978

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 141st Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ΠN

THURSDAY, 2ND MARCH, 1978

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (49)

Prime Minister (1)

- Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent ≈ on Deputy Prime Minister (1)
- Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Soniur-Ministurs (8)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance
- * Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- * Cde. G.A. King, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
- t Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice

Ministers (5)

- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P., Minister of Information (Absent on leave)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- * Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs

Ministers of State (9)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
 - * Non elected Minister

- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Health, Housing and Labour
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture

Other Members (21)

- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P.
- Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P.
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. S. Jaiserrisingh, M.P.
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. M. Kasim, A.A., M.P.
- Cde. M. Nissar, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Ramsahoye, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P. Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P. Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P.
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

^{*} Non elected Minister

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mrs. E. Da Silva, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.)
Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Burnham, Green and Kennard and to Mr. Singh, for that sitting.

Hours of Sitting

The Speaker informed the Assembly that it was agreed that during the Budget debate the hours of sittings would be from 2.00 p.m. to 4.00 p.m. and 4.30 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

MOTIONS RELATING TO THE BUSINESS OR SITTINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY AND MOVED BY A MINISTER:

On a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House under paragraph (3) of Standing Order No. 9, paragraph (of the said Standing Order was suspended so that the sitting would not be suspended at 6.30 p.m., resume at 8.00 p.m. and end at 10.00 p.m., but would instead continue from 6.30 p.m. and end at 8.30 p.m.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - BUDGET FOR 1978

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1978, totalling \$476,515,775

• • • •

Cdo. Narbada Persaud spoke to the motion.

The Ministor of Economic Development and Co-operatives was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDER NO. 32 (9)

With the leave of the Speaker, and on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, Standing Order No. 32(9) was suspended to enable Members to speak beyond the time limit during the Budget Debate, as it was agreed that during that Debate, the Government would be allocated four hours and the Opposition two hours each day.

The Minister of Economic Development and Có-operatives concluded his speech.

Cde. Lalbahadur, the Minister of State - Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara), the Minister of State- Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne), Cdcs/Ally, Van Sluytman, Ramsahoye and Bynoe spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 8.25 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, 3rd March, 1978.

S NARAIN Speakor: 3.3.78

PARLIAMENT OFFICE. Public Buildings, Georgetown. 3rd March, 1978.