THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FIRST SESSION

#### 1973 - 1978

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 142nd Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

FRIDAY, 3rd MARCH, 1978

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (49)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absont - on leave)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National. Development

Senior Ministers (8)

Ode. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives

\* Cde, H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour

\* Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources

- \* Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance
- \* Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- \* Cde. G.A. King, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
- \* Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- \* Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice

### Ministers (5)

- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P., Minister of Information (Absent-on leave) Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- \* Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- \* Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture
- \* Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs

Ministers of State (9)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives.

1 ....

\* Non elected Minister

- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Health, Housing and Labour
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development
- \* Cde. A. Salim, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- \* Cde. F.U.A. Càrmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture

Other Members (21)

Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P. Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P. Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P. Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. Cde. J. Gill, M.P. Cde. W. Hussain, M.P. Cde. S. Jaiserriving', M.P. Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P. Cde. M. Kasim, A.A., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. M. Nissar, M.P. Cde. L.E. Ramsahoye, M.P. Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P. Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P. Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P. Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P. Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P. Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, J.P., M.P. Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P. Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., De puty Speaker of the National Assembly

\* Non elected Minister

Other Members (12)

٠.

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P. Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P. Cde. I. Basir, M.P. Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. Cde. R. Ally, M.P. Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. Cde. Dindayal, M.P. Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

# (ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P., Absent - on leave) Mrs. E. Da Silva, M.P.

### OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

#### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Burnham and Kasim and to Mr. Singh for that sitting.

## (ii) Hours of Sitting

The Speaker reminded Members that the hours of sitting that day would be as agreed to at the previous sitting on 2nd March, 1978, i.e. from 2.00 p.m. to 4.00 p.m. and from 4.30 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

- By the <u>Minister of Parliamentary</u> Affairs and Leader of the House, on behalf of the Minister of Finance:
- (i) Customs Duties Order 1978 (No. 26), made under section 8 of the Customs Act, Chapter 82:01, and published in the Gazette on the 27th of February, 1978.

(Circulated)

 (ii) Consumption Tax (Amendment) Order 1978 (N7. 29), made under section 4 of the Consumption Tax Act, Chapter 80:02, on the 25th of February, 1978, and published in the Cazette on the 27th of February, 1978.

(Circulated)

### PUBLIC BUSINESS\_

MOTION .

1. BUDGET FOR 1978

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the epproval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1978 totalling \$476,515,775.

Cde. Collymore and the Minister of Energy and Natural Resources spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.35 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

#### RESUMPTION OF BUDGET DEBATE

Ede. Dalchand, the Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives, the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Ede. Nokta spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Works and <sup>T</sup>ransport was speaking to the motion when the sitting had to be suspended due to a black-out.

SUSPESNION OF SITTING

At 7.20 p.m. the sitting was suspended.

### RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 7.28 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Speaker informed Members that, on account of the black-out, the sitting that day would have to be adjourned, and that at the next sitting the hours would be as follows:-

(i) From 2.00 p.m. - 4.00 p.m.
(ii) From 4.30 p.m. - 6.30 p.m.
(iii) From 8.00 p.m. - 11.00 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT

At 7.30 p.m. the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Monday 6th March, 1978.

NARAIN 6.378.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 4th March, 1978.