FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1978

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 143rd Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

MONDAY, 6TH MARCH, 1978

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Members of the Government - People's National Congress (49)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (8)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives (Absent)
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance
- * Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- * Cde. G.A. King, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice

Ministers (5)

- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P., Minister of Information
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- * Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde, V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave)

Ministers of State (9)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Health, Housing and Labour
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development
- * Cde. A. Salim, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice) (Absent)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Cdo. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister. and Government Chief Whip
- the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P. Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Farliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture

Other Members (21)

- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P.
- Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P.
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. S. Jaiserrisingh, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. M. Kasim, A.A., M.P.
- Cde. M. Nissar, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Ramsahoye, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P. (Absent)

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Cheif Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. Mrs. E. Da Silva, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.)
Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER -

(i) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cde. Burnham for that sitting; and
- (b) Cde. Jackson from 5th to 30th March, 1978.

(ii) Hours of Sitting

The Speaker reminded Members that the hours of sitting that day would be as agreed to at the previous sitting on 3rd March, 1978, i.e. from 2.00 p.m. to 4.00 p.m., from 4.30 p.m. to 6.30 p.m. and from 8.00 p.m. to 11.00 p.m.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTICAL

ITEM 1. BUDGET FOR 1978

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1978, totalling \$476,515,775.

The Minister of Works and Transport concluded his speech.

Mrs. Da Silva spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

RESUMPTION OF BUDGET DEBATE

The Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection concluded his speech.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud and the Minister of Agriculture spoke to the motion.

Cde. Mohamed was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 6.30 p.m. the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.00 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

RESUMPTION OF BUDGET DEBATE

Cde. Mohamed concluded his speech.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 8.34 p.m. the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.39 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

RESUMPTION OF BUDGET DEBATE

The Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture, the Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Comperatives, Cdes. Sukul and Rayman spoke to the motion.

The Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture was speaking to the motion when the time for the adjournment of the sitting was reached.

ADJGURNMENT

At 11.03 p.m. the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on S. NARAIN Speaker Tuesday, 7th March, 1978.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE. Public Buildings, Georgetown. 7th March, 1978.