FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1978

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 144th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

TUESDAY, 7TH MARCH, 1978

#### MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

# Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (49)

## Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent-on leave)

### Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

## Senior Ministers (8)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives (Absent)
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour
- \* Cde. H.O. Jack, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)
- \* Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
- \* Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport (Absent)
- \* Cde. G.A. King, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)
- \* Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)

  \* Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and
  Minister of Justice (Absent)

#### Ministers (5)

- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. Minister of Information (Absent)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- \* Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Absent)
- \* Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent)
- \* Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave)

# Ministers of State (9)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

/ ...

- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Health, Housing and Labour
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- \* Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)

## Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture

# Other Members (21)

- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P.
- Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P.
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. S. Jaiserrisingh, M.P.
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. M. Kasim, A.A., M.P.
- Cde. M. Nissar, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Ramsahoye, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P. M. A.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

# Members of the Opposition (16)

## (i) People's Progressive Party (14)

## Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

# Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

\* Non elected Minister

## Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

·Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cdo. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P. Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

# (ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent) Mrs. E. Da Silva, M.P.

### OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

#### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

### Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cde. Burnham for that sitting.

# PUBLIC BUSINESS

## MOTION

#### ITEM 1 BUDGET FOR 1978

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1978, totalling \$476,515,775.

The Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture concluded his speech.

Cde. J. Jagan and the Minister of Health, Housing and Labour spoke to the motion.

### SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.05 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

# RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.33 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

# RESUMPTION OF BUDGET DEBATE

The Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister, the Minister of State, Ministry of Health, Housing and Labour, the Deputy Speaker, the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development, the Minister of State, Ministry of National Development, Cdes Gill, Basir, Jonas, Fowler and Sukhu spoke to the motion.

# ADJOURNMENT

At 8.42 p.m. on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on.Wednesday, 8th March, 1978.

S NARAIN Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 8th March, 1978.