FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1978

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 147th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

FRIDAY, 10TH MARCH, 1978

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (49)

Prime Minister (1)

L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development (Absent)

Senior Ministers (8)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives (Absent)
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources(Absent)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
- * Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- * Cde. G.A. King, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent) * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., **S.**C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice

Ministers (5)

- Cde. S.M. Field Aridley, M.P., Minister of Information (Absent) Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- * Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Abaent)
- * Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent)
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave)

Ministers of State (9)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- * Non elected Minister

```
Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the
       Prime Minister (Absent)
  Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State - Regional
       (Mazaruni/Potaro)
 Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State - Regional
       Essequibo Coast/West Demerara) (Absent)
 Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Health,
       Housing and Labour
 Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National
       Development (Absent)
* Cde. A. Salim, M.P., Minister of State - Regional (East Demerara/
       West Coast Berbice) (Absent)
* Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State - Regional (North
       West)
  Parliamentary Secretaries (4)
 Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office
       of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
 Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.C., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of
       Agriculture
 Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of
       Economic Development and Co-operatives
  Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of
       Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent)
 Other Members (21)
 Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P. (Absent)
 Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P.
 Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P.
 Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
 Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
 Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
 Cde. S. Jaiserrisingh, M.P.
 Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P. (Absent)
 Cde. M. Kasim, A.A., M.P. (Absent - on leave)
 Cde. M. Nissar, M.P.
 Cde. L.E. Ramsahoye, M.P.
 Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
 Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
 Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P.
Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
 Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
 Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
 Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, J.P., M.P.
 Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. (Absont)
 Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P.
 Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.
                      ( Members of the Opposition (15)
                    (i) People's Progressive Party (14)
 Leader of the Opposition (1)
 Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)
 Deputy Speaker (1)
 Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
```

* Non elected Minister

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P. Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P. Cde. I. Basir, M.P. Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. Cde. Dindayal, M.P. Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (1)

Mr. M. F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS -

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER -

(i) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cde. Kasim and Mr. Singh for that sitting.

(ii) Death of Mrs. Elinor Da Silva

The Speaker informed Members that Mrs. Da Silva had died earlier that day.

Due to the absence from that sitting of Mr. Singh, Leader of the Party of which Mrs. Da Silva was a member, a Motion of Condolence was deferred to the next sitting on Monday, 13th March, 1978.

STATEMENTS BY MINISTERS

Denial of Outbreak of Cholera

The Minister of Health, Housing and Labour made a Statement in which he informed the Assembly that there was no outbreak of cholera in Guyana.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

<u>ITEM 1</u> - <u>RESUMPTION OF APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR</u> 1978

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply and resumed consideration of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1978, totalling \$476,515,775.

In Committee of Supply

HEAD 35	MINISTRY OF HOUSING was passed as printed at \$ 1,547,924
DIVISION XXI	MINISTRY OF HOUSING was passed as printed at \$ 1,450,000
HEAD 69	 MINISTRY OF HEALTH was passed as printed at \$ 1,702,124
HEAD 70	MINISTRY OF HEALTH - MEDICAL was passed as printed at \$ 6,218,810
HEAD 71	MINISTRY OF HEALTH - PATHOL OG- ICAL [.] was <u>p</u> assed as <u>p</u> rinted at \$ 1,053,593
HEAD 72	MINISTRY OF HEALTH - RADIOLOGICAL was <u>p</u> assed as <u>p</u> rinted at \$ 412,012
HEAD 73	MINISTRY OF HEALTH - HOSPITALS AND DISPENSARIES was under consideration when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

Assembly resumed.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4,07 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

RESUMPTION OF APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1978

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply and resumed consideration of the Estimates of Expenditure for 1978.

In Committee of Supply

HEAD 73	MINISTRY OF HEALTH - HOSPITALS AND DISPENSARIES was <u>p</u> assed as <u>printed</u> at •••	\$	23,136,916
HEAD 74	MINISTRY OF HEALTH - ANALYST was <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u> at	\$	343,476
HEAD 75	MINISTRY OF HEALTH - PALMS was passed as printed at	\$	990,490
DIVISION XXVIII -	MINISTRY OF HEALTH was passed as printed at •••	\$	2,100,00D
HEAD 76	MINISTRY OF LABOUR was <u>p</u> assed as <u>printed</u> at •••	\$	1,045,9 31
HEAD 77	MINISTRY OF LABOUR - EMPLOY- MENT EXCHANGE SERVICE was passed as printed at	\$	118,464

HEAD 78 MINISTRY OF LABOUR - SOCIAL ASSISTANCE was <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u> at ... \$ 5,844,026

Assembly resumed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 5.47 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Monday, 13th March, 1978.

aray S. NARAIN Speaker

/

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 11th March, 1978 5.