FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1978

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 148th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

MONDAY, 13TH MARCH, 1978

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (49)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (8)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)
- # Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
 # Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
- * Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- * Cde. G.A. King, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General nd Minister of Justice

Ministers (5)

- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P., Minister of Information (Absent)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- * Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave)

Ministers of State (9)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- * Non elected Minister

- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/E's are) (Absent)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara) (Absent)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development (Absent)
- * Cde. A. Salim, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West) (Absent)

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.r., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture

Other Members (21)

- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P.
- Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P.
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. S. Jaiserrisingh, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. M. Kasima (A), MaP. Cde. M. Nissar, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Ramsahoye, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P. Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P.
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen. M.P. (Absent)

Members of the Opposition (15)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

^{*} Non elected Minister

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Ede. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (1)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) Donation of Blood

The Speaker reminded Members that arrangements had been made for the donation of blood by them that day.

(ii) Vacancy in the National Assembly

The Speaker informed the Assembly that following the death of Mrs. Elinor Da Silva, a vacancy existed in the National Assembly. He stated that, in accordance with article 70(1) of the Constitution, he would call upon the representative of the list from which Mrs. Da Silva's name was extracted, to further extract from that list the name of a person to fill the vacancy.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDER NO. 23(3)

With the leave of the Speaker and on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, Standing Order No. 23 was suspended to enable the Assembly to proceed with a motion on the death of Mrs. Elinor Da Silva.

MOTIONS

ITEM 1 - CONDOLENCE ON THE DEATH OF MRS. ELINOR DA SILVA

The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development moved the following \mathbf{z} otion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly records its deep regret at the death of Mrs. Elinor Da Silva and pays tribute to the distinguished service which she rendered to Guyana and to its Parliament and directs that an expression of its sympathy be conveyed to her sorrowing widower.

Cde. Janet Jagan and Mr. Singh spoke to the motion.

The motion was then put and carried with Members standing.

TITEM 2 - RESUMPTION OF APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1978

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply and resumed consideration of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1978, totalling \$476,515,775.

In Committee of Supply

HEAD 32 MINISTRY OF ENERGY AND NATURAL

RESOURCES was passed as printed

at \$ 2,592,739

DIVISION XVIII - MINISTRY OF ENERGY AND NATURAL.

RESOURCES was passed as printed

at \$ 3,840,000

Assembly resumed.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.07 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.34 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

RESUMPTION OF APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1978

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply and resumed Consideration of the Estimates of Expenditure for 1978.

In Committee of Supply

HEAD 36 - MINISTRY OF WORKS AND TRANSPORT

(WORKS) was passed as printed

... \$28,227,681

DIVISION XXII: - MINISTRY OF WORKS AND TRANSPORT

(WORKS) was passed as printed

at ... \$25,898,000

DIVISION XXIII •	(WORKS) IBRD/IDA PROJECTS WEST DEMERARA ROAD PROJECT was passe	d \$ 8,025,000
HEAD 37	MINISTRY OF WORKS AND TRANSPORT (TRANSPORT) was passed as printate	s 827,867
HEAD 38	MINISTRY OF WORKS AND TRANSPORT (TRANSPORT) POST OFFICE was passed as printed at	\$ 40
HEAD 39	MINISTRY OF WORKS AND TRANSPORT (TRANSPORT) TRANSPORT AND HARBOURS was passed as printed at	\$ 3,000,000
HEAD 40	MINISTRY OF WORKS AND TRANSPORT (TRANSPORT) CIVIL AVIATION was passed as printed at	\$ 1,685,923
DIVISION XXIV -	MINISTRY OF WORKS AND TRANSPORT (TRANSPORT) was passed as printerat	<u>ad</u> \$ 9,950,000

Assembly resumed.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

At 6.57 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Tuesday, 14th March, 1978.

Speaker 14

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 14th March, 1978