FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1978

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 155th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ΩN

WEDNESDAY, 5TH APRIL, 1978

# MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (66) Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (49)

## Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent-on leave)

#### Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

### Senior Ministers (8)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- \* Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)
- \* Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
- \* Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance
- \* Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport(Absent-on
- \* Cde. G.A. King, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
- ☼ Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent on leave)
- \* Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)

#### Ministers (5)

- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P., Minister of Information
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House (Absent - on leave)
  \* Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- \* Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent on leave)
- \* Cde. R.E. Kackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs

### Ministers of State (9)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Berbice/
- Corentyne (\*Dsent on leave)
  Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives (Absent.)
  - \* Non elected Minister

- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro) (Absent)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development (Absent)
- \* Cde. A. Salim, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demense) West Coast Berbice) (Absent)
- \* Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West) (Absent)

# Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co∞operatives
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent - on leave)

### Other Members (21)

- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P.
- Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P.
- @de. L.A. Durant, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, MaP.
- Cde. W. Hussain, McPc
- Cde. S. Jaiserrisingh, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. M. Kasim, A.Á., M.P. Cde. M. Nissar, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Ramsahoye, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P. (Absent) Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

## Members of the Opposition (16)

### (i) People's Progressive Party (14)

# Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P. Leader of the Opposition (Absent - on leave)

# Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent - on leave)

\* Non elected Minister

### Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. L. Lalbahadur, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

### (ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

# OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.)
Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

# ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

### Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Burnham, S.S. Naraine, Kennard, Ramsaroop, Teekah, Clarke, Corrica and C. Jagan for that sitting.

### PUBLIC BUSINESS

### MOTION

# CONFIRMATION OF CONSUMPTION TAX (AMENDMENT) (NO. 2) ORDER 1978 (Mo. 37)

The Minister of Finance moved the following motion which was put and carried.

# BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly in accordance with section 5 of the Consumption Tax Act, Chapter 80:02, confirm the Comsumption Tax (Amendment) (No. 2) Order 1978 (No. 37), which was made on the 16th of March, 1978, and published in the Gazette on the 18th of March, 1978.

# MOTION FOR ADJOURNMENT - DEFINITE MATTER OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE

# ITEM 2 SUPPLY OF ELECTRICITY

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud moved the adjournment of the Assembly for the respose of discussing the supply of electricity in the country.

Cde. N. Persaud seconded the motion.

The Minister of Tapade and Consumer Protection was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

#### SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

### RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.28 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of  $T_{\overline{\mathbf{x}}}$  and Consumer Protection concluded his speech.

Mr. Singh spoke to the motion.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud replied.

The Minister of Energy and Natural Resources concluded the debate.

The motion for the adjournment of the Assembly was then put and carried.

At 6.05 p.m., on a motion by the Minister Information the adjournment was to 2.00 p.m. on Monday, 10th pril, 1978.

SNARAIN 8/4/78 Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 8th April, 1978