FIRST SESSION

1973 - 197B

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 171st Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

 ΩN

THURSDAY, 7TH DECEMBER, 1978

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (62)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Members of the Government - People's National Congress (45)

Primo Minister (1)

Cde. k.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent - on leav) Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development (Absent - on leave)

Senior Ministers (12)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives:
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Tapansport
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- * Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent - on leave)
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent)

 * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer

 Protection (Absent)

Ministers (2)

Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P., Minister of Information (Absent) Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister - Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne) (Absent)

^{*} Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (10)

- F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the
- Prime Minister (Absent)
 Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro) J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State - Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Health, Housing and Labour R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development (Absent)
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)

Parliamentary Secretaries (5)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent)
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives (Absent - on leave)

Other Members (14)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P.
- Cde. E. H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M. P. Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P.
- Ede. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P. (Absent) Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. (Absent- on leave)
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent - on leave)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent - on leave)

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent) Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde, C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P., Cde. Dindayal, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain A.A.) Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

Cdes. Burnham, Reid, Mingo, Teekah and Wrights and Willems for that sitting.

Reports in "Mirror"

The Speaker referred to reports which appeared in the "Mirror" of Sunday, 3rd December, 1978, and which were incorrect, contempt of Parliament, and inaccurate, and stated that should there be a recurrence that Newspaper would be excluded from sittings of the Assembly.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Minister of Works and Transport:

Demerara Harbour Bridge (Amendment) Regulations (a) 1978 (No. 35), made under section 25 of the Roads Act, Chapter 51:01, on 24th November, 1978, and published in the Gazette on 2nd December, 1978.

(Circulated).

(b) Roads (Demerara Harbour Bridge) By-Laws 1978 (No. 4), made under section 24 of the Roads Act, Chapter 51:01, on 24th November, 1978, and published in the Gazette on 2nd December, 1978.

(Circulated)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTIONS

APPROVAL OF SMALL INDUSTRIES CORPORATION (DISSOLUTION)
 ORDER 1978 (№0. 122)

The Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives on behalf of the Prime Minister, moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly, in terms of section 63(1) of the Public Corporations Act, Chapter 19:05, approve of the Small Industries Corporation (Dissolution) Order 1978 (No. 122), which was made on 20th November, 1978, and published in the Gazette on . . 21st Navember, 1978.

Cde. N. Persaud spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives $\mathtt{replied}_{\bullet}$

The motion was then put and carried.

17EM 2 - AFFIRMATION OF ROADS DEMERARA HARBOUR BRIDGE BY-LAWS

The Minister of Works: and Transport moved (i) the following mation:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly, in terms of section 24 of the &mads Act, Chapter 51:01, affirm the Roads (Demerara Harbour Bridge) By-Laws 1978 (No. 4), which were made on 24th November, 1978, and published in the Gazette on 2nd December, 1978.

(ii) the following amendment to the motion:

Addition at the end of the motion of the words "subject to the substitution of the words 'three months' for the words 'six months' in By-Law 14(2)".

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud and Cde. Dalchand spoke to the amended motion.

The Minister of Works and Transport was replying to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

As the business was almost concluded, the Assembly agreed to continue without suspension of the sitting.

The Minister of Works and Transport concluded his

The amended motion was put and carried.

ADJOURNMENT

At 4.15~p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

Speaker. 1. 79

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 3rd January, 1979.