FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 174th Sitting of the National Assembly hold in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

At 2.00 P.M.

ΟN

THURSDAY, 8TH FEBRUARY, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (62)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Members of the Govornment - Poople's National Congress (45)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Doputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Dovelopment

Senior Ministers (12)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Dovolopment and Co-operatives (Absent)
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and
- Transport (Absent on leave) Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent - on leavo)
- * Cdc. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources * Cdo. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent on leave)
- * Cdo. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- * Cdo. V.R. Teckah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culturo
- * Cds. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave)
- *Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absont)

Ministers (3)

Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P., Minister of Information (Absent) Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister - Regional (East Berbico/Corentyne) Cde. C.A. Nascimonto, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister

* Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (9)

Cde. F.U.A. Carmichaol, M.P., Minister of Stato - Regional (Rupununi) Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives Cdo. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State - Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro) Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State - Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Domorara) Cdo. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Stato, Ministry of Health, Housing and Labour Cdo. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Dovelopment (Absent) Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State - Regional (East Demorara/ West Coast Berbice) Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture Cdo. L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State, Regional (North West) Parliamentary Sucretarius (5) Cdo. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Sucretary, Office of

the Primo Minister, and Government Chief Whip Cdo. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, finistry of Agriculturo Cdo. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamontary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent - on leavo) Cdo. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Socretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection. Cdo. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives Other Membors (14) Cde. W.G. Carrington, M.P. Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. Cdo. J. Gill, M.P. Cdo. W. Hussain, M.P. Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P. Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P. Cdu. P.A. Rayman, M.P.

Cde. A. Salim, M.P. Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P. Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P. Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P. Cdo. L.E. Willoms, M.P. Cde. M. Zahoeruddoen, M.P.

> Members of the Opposition (16) (i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leador of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cdo. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (12)

```
Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Porsaud, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C. Collymoro, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P. (Absent)
```

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. NArain, A.A.) Acting Dopùty Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) Designation of Cde. Nascimento as a Minister

The Speaker informed the Assembly that Cde. C.A. Nascimento, who had been a Minister of State, had been designated a Minister with effect from 1st February, 1979. On behalf of Members and himself, the Speaker extended congratulation to Cde. Nascimento on his preferment.

Cde. Nascimento thanked the Speaker and Members.

(ii) Return of Mr. Singh

The Speaker welcomed Mr. Singh back to the Assembly after an extended period of absence due to medical reasons.

Mr. Singh thanked the Speaker.

(iii) Leave

The Speakor announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cdes. Burnham, Green and Kennard for that sitting,
- (b) Cde. S.S. Naraine up to 28th February, 1979, and
- (c) Cde. Jackson up to 22nd February, 1979.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

(1) By the <u>Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development</u> on behalf of the Prime Minister:

Pensions (Designated Service) Order 1978 (No.2 of 1979) made under section 23 of the Pensions Act, Chapter 27:02, on the 22nd of December, 1978 and published in the Gazette on the 6th of January, 1979.

(PS: 24/10)(Circulated)

(2) By the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House on behalf of the Minister of Finance:

> Report and Accounts of the Guyana Co-operative Insurance Servico for the year ended 31st December, 1977.

> > (Circulated)

REQUESTS FOR LEAVE TO MOVE THE ADDOURNMENT OF THE ASSEMBLY ON DEFINITE MATTERS OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE

Office of the Ombudsman

A claim by Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud to move the adjournment of the Assembly for the purpose of discussing the Office of the Ombudsman, was not allowed by the Speaker, as the matter did not qualify as one to be raised on a motion for the adjournment of the Assembly.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

(1) <u>MEDICAL SERVICE (AMENDMENT) BILL 1979- Bill No. 1/1979</u> published 27.1.79

The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House on behalf of the Minister of Health, Housing and Labour, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

> A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE COLONIAL MEDICAL SERVICE ORDINA (CE FOR THE PURPOSE OF RECONSTITUTING THE MEDICAL BOARD AND TO PRO-VIDE FOR THE REGISTRATION OF PERSONS PRACTIS-ING OSTEOPATHY AND THE REGULATION OF THE PRAC-TICE OF OSTEOPATHY IN GUYANA.

(2) <u>RENT CONTROL SPECIAL PROVIGIONS BILL 1979</u> -Bill NO. 2 1979 ublished 27.1.79

The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, on behalf of the Minister of Health, Housing and Labour presented the following Bill which was read a first time:

> A BILL intituled AN ACT TO MAKE PROVISION FOR A FURTHER EXTENSION OF THE PERIOD DURING WHICH RENTS WILL BE CONTROLLED AND FOR MATTERS CONNECTED THEREWITH.

(3) GUYANA MINING COMMISSION BILL 1979 - Bill No. 3/1979

The Minister of Energy and Natural Resources presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT AND THE FUNCTIONS OF THE GUYANA MINING COMMISSION AND FOR PURPOSES CONNECTED THEREWITH.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.18 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Monday, 12th February, 1979.

* L'ARAIN S. ARAIN Speaker 9.2.79.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown 9th February, 1979