THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 177th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 15TH MARCH, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (12)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources(Absent)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent on * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and leave) Minister of Justice
- * Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent) -
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent - on leave)

Ministers (2)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent)

SECTION AND ADDRESS OF

* Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (10)

Cde. F.U.A. C⊲rmichael, M.P., Minister of State - Regional (Rupununi)

2.

- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development

Parliamentary Secretaries (5)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

Other Members (15)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P.
- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent - on leave)

* Non elected Minister

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P.

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.)
Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) <u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cdes. Burnham and Salim for that sitting, and
- (b) Cde. Tyndall for the period 12th 25th March, 1979.

(ii) Re-assignment of Cde. J.R. Thomas

The Speaker announced that he had been informed that Cde. J.R. Thomas, who had been a Minister of State at the Ministry of Health, Housing and Labour, had been assigned duties as Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister, with effect from 12th March, 1979.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Minister of Finance:

Annual Report, Accounts and Balance Sheet of the Guyana Agricultural Co-operative Development Bank for 1977.

(ST: 28/1/1)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - BUDGET FOR 1979

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1979.

Cde. N. Persaud spoke to the motion.

The Speaker announced that it was agreed that during consideration of the Budget and Estimates for 1979, the hours of sittings would be $\overline{\ }$

2.00 p.m. to 5.00 p.m.

5.00 p.m. to 5.30 p.m. - break for refreshments

5.30 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

The Minister of Finance and Cde. Basir spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.07 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.28 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture, Cde. Nokta, the Minister of State - Regional (Rupununi), the Minister of State - Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara), the Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives and Cde. Rayman spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 8.23 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, 16th March, 1979.

5. NARAIN 16/3/29
Speaker

-

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 16th March, 1979.