FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 178th Sitting of the National Assembly hold in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ΩN

FRIDAY, 16TH MARCH, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Memburs of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cdc. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister(Absent - on leave)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Denior Ministers (12)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cdo. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport.
- Cde. B. Ramsarcop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cdc. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Absent) * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Wealth, Housing and
- Labour(Absent)
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)
- * Cdo. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent) * Cdo. G.B. Kennerd, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.G., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absont) * Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development
- and Culture
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave) * Cdo. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer
 - Protection (Absent on leave)

* Non elected Minister

Ministers (2)

Cde.	O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister - Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne) (Absent)
Cdə.	C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister(Absent)
Minis	sters of Stato (10)

- Cdo. F.U.: Carmichael, M.P., Ministor of State Regional (Rupununi)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister o: Stato Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.L., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development
- Cdo. S, Prashad, M.F., Minister of State Regional (East Demorara/ West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)
- Cdc. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development

Parliamentary Secretaries (5)

- Cdc. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cdc. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

Other Members (15)

```
Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P.
Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.(Absent)
Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
Cde. S. Rayman, M.P.
Cde. A. Salim, M.P. (Absent)
Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P.
Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.
```

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent - on leave) * Non elected Minister Doputy Spoaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Mombers (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. Cde. Roopu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. Cde. I. Basir, M.P. Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent) Cde. R. Ally, M.P. Cde. R. Ally, M.P. Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. Cde. Dindayal, M.P. Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P.

(ii) <u>Liberator Party (2)</u>

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Marain, A.A.) Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assombly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER

Loave

The Speaker announced, that leave had been granted to Cdes. Burnham and Jackson for that sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - BUDGET FOR 1979

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1979.

The Deputy Speaker, the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and the Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture spoke to the motion.

Cde. Mohamed was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was ${\rm reachod}_{\bullet}$

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.25 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Cde. Mohamed concluded his speech.

The Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture, the Minister of State for Information, and Cde. Sukhu spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 8.30 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Monday, 19th March, 1979.

harain 17/3/74 Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 17th March, 1979.