THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 179th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ΩN

MONDAY, 19TH MARCH, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F. S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister. (Absent)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. F.A. Beid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (12)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- * Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent)
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent on leave)

Ministers (2)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent on leave)
- * Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (10)

- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional(Rupununi)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional
 (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development

Parliamentary Secretaries (5)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

Other Members (15)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P.
- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. 5.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P. (Absent)

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party (14)</u>

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.F., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)

* Non elected Minister

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.F., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P.

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.)
Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cde. Nascimento from 19th to 26th March, 1979, and
- (b) Cde. Salim for 2 weeks from 19th March, 1979.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the <u>Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National</u>
<u>Development</u>, on behalf of the Prime Minister:

Report of the Commission of Enquiry — Guy and Electricity Corporation.

(Circulated)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - BUDGET FOR 1979

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1979.

Cde. J. Jagan, the Minister of Health, Housing and Labour, the Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection, and Cde. Collymore spoke to the motion.

The Minister of State, Ministry of National Development, was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the ${\tt Sitting}$ was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.35 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of State, Ministry of National Development, concluded his speech.

 $\,$ Cde. Dalchand, Mr. Abraham, the Minister of Works and Transport and Cde. Sukhai spoke to the motion.

The Minister - Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne) was speaking to the motion when the time for the adjournment of the sitting was reached.

ADJOURNMENT

At 8.32~p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00~p.m. on Tuesday, 20th March, 1979.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 20th March, 1979.