FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 180th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

TUESDAY, 20TH MARCH, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister(Absent-on leave)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development (Absent)

Senior Ministers (12)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives (Absent)
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, $\Lambda_{\bullet}\Lambda_{\bullet}$, $M_{\bullet}P_{\bullet}$, Minister of Works and $T_{\mathtt{r}}$ ansport(Absent)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Absent)
- *Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)
- *Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)
- *Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
 *Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- *Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- *Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Sovial Development and Culture (Absent)
- *Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs *Cde. J.A. Tyndall, $\Lambda.\Lambda.$, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent - on leave)

Ministers (2)

Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister - Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne)

many (to to the later)

Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

^{*} Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (10)

- Cdo. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi)
- Cdo. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Ministor of Stato Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P. M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cdc. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cdo. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of Stato, Ministry of National Dovolopment
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demorara/West Coast Berbico)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development (Absent)

Parliamentary Secretaries (5)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamehtary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

Other Members (15)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P.
- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P. (Absort)
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P., (Absent on leave) Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P. Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

^{*} Non elected Minister

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Recpu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. (Absont)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P. (Absont)

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cde $\, \bullet \,$ Burnham and Mr. Singh for that sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - BUDGET FOR 1979

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1979.

The Minister - Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne) concluded his speech.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, the Minister of Agriculture and the Minister of State, Ministry if Economic Development and Co-operatives, spoke to the motion.

Cde. Ally was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.05 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.25 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Cde. Ally concluded his speech.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs, Cdes. Taylor and Dindayal, the Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister and the Minister of State - Regional (East Demerara/West Coast Berbice) spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 7.52 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00~p.m. on Wednesday, 21st March, 1979.

S NARALA Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 21st March, 1979.