FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 181st Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

WEDNESDAY, 21ST MARCH, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development (Absent - on leave)

Senior Ministers (12)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour
- * Cde. H.C. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent — on leave)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- * Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent on leave)

Ministers (2)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent on leave)

^{*} Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (10)

- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

2.

- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional
 (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development

Parliamentary Secretaries (5)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

Other Members (15)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P.
- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.F.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party (14)</u>

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

^{*} Non elected Minister

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., *Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P. (Absent)

(ii) <u>Liberator Party (2)</u>

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.F. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Reid and J ck and Mr. Singh for that sitting.

PERSONAL EXPLANATIONS

<u>Publication in the 'Mirror' Newspaper of 20th March, 1979</u>

The Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture informed the Assembly that statements in the 'Mirror' newspaper of Tuesday, 20th March, 1979, in relation to his contribution to the Budget debate on 16th March, 1979, were untrue and misleading, and he made an explanation on the matter.

The Speaker agreed with the Minister's statement and requested the 'Mirror' to make an apology, failing which its representative would be excluded from future sittings of the Assembly.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

TEACHERS' PENSIONS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1979 - Bill No. 4/1979

The Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE TEACHERS' PENSIONS ACT AND TO MAKE A CONSEQUENTIAL AMENDMENT TO THE PENSIONS ACT.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - BUDGET FOR 1979

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1979.

Cdes. Belgrave and Carrington, and the Minister of State - Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro) spoke to the motion.

The Leader of the Opposition was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.23 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Leader of the Opposition concluded his speech.

The Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives replied.

REPORT OF BUSINESS SUB+COMMITTEE OF COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to receive and to consider the Report of the Business Sub-Committee concerning the allocation of time for the consideration of the 1979 Estimates of Expenditure by the Committee of Supply.

In Committee of Supply

Following a Report by the Chairman of the Business Sub-Committee and a motion by the Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives, the Committee of Supply agreed with the Resolution of the Business Sub-Committee.

The Chairman then reminded Members that consideration of the 1979 Estimates of Expenditure would commence at the next sitting on Thursday, 22nd March, 1979.

Assembly resumed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 6.55 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 22nd March, 1979.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 22nd March, 1979.