FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 182nd Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Champer at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara

AT. 2.00 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 22ND MARCH, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY(63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister.

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P:A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (12)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cdm S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- *Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour(Absent)
- *Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)

- *Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
 *Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
 *Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.'!., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice
- *Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture
- *Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent)
- *Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent on leave)

Ministers (2)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)
 - * Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (10)

Cde. F.U.A.Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State - Regional (Rupununi)

2.

- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Mcrbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)
- Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development

Parliamentary Secretaries (5)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Có-operatives

Other Members (15)

- ©de. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P.
- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cdc. L.E. Willems, M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(1) Peoplo's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cdc. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

^{*} Non elected Minister

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cdc. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. Cde. Dindayal, M.P. Cde. H. Nekta, M.P.

Cdc. P. Sukhai, M.P. (Absent)

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, $\Lambda \cdot \Lambda_{\bullet}$) Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANMOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. Singh for that sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1979

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to consider the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1979.

In Committee of Supply

HEAD 1 OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT \$199,403

With the leave of the Speaker under Standing Order No. 83, and on a motion by the Prime Minister, Standing Order No. 66(1) was suspended, to enable an amendment to be moved to this $\rm H_{8}ad_{\bullet}$

On a motion by the Prime Minister who signified Cabinet's recommendation, Head 1 Office of the President, was amended by the insertion of the following as Subhead 16:

"Subhead 16 National Honours - \$46,540"

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT was then HEAD 1 passed as increased at

\$245,943

HEAD 7	-PUBLIC AND POLICE SERVICE COMMISS was passed as printed at	SIONS	812,909
HEAD 10	-OFFICE OF THE PRIME MINISTER AND CARINET was passed as printed at		1,402,510
HEAD 11	-GUYANA DEFENCE FORCE was <u>passed</u> a printed at	•••	39,500,000
DIVISION V	-PRIME MINISTER was <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u> at	•••	15,345,000
HE/\D 14	-MINISTRY OF PUBLIC CORPORATIONS was passed as printed at	•••	17 , 793
HEAD 15	-PUBLIC SERVICE MINISTRY was passo as printed at	<u>•••</u>	1,736,172
DIVICION			
DIVISION VIII	-PUBLIC SERVICE MINISTRY was passe as <u>printed</u> at	<u>ed</u>	12,493,000
		···	12,493,000 7,89Q,145
VIII	as <u>printed</u> at -MINISTRY OF NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT	•••	, ,
VIII HEAD 31	as printed at -MINISTRY OF NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT was passed as printed at -MINISTRY OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT		7,890,145
VIII HEAD 31 HEAD 33 DIVISION	as printed at -MINISTRY OF NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT was passed as printed at -MINISTRY OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT was passed as printed at -MINISTRY OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT		7,89Q,145 2,432,039

Assembly resumed.

THEMRIDGER

At 4.00 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, 23rd March, 1979.

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 23rd March, 1979.