FIRST SESJION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 184th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

MONDAY, 26TH MARCH, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (12)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
 * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- * Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent)
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)

Ministers (2)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister

^{*} Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (10)

- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Ministor of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro) (Absent)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.F., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Stato, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cdo. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development (Absent on leave)
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Domerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development

Parliamentary Secretaries (5)

- Cdo. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Sworetary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

Other Members (15)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P.
- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P. (Absont on leave)
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P. (Absent)
- Cdo. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cdc. A. Salim, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. (Absont)
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P. (Absent)

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Doputy Speaker of the National Assembly

^{*} Non elected Minister

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. (Absont)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

Cdo. P. Sukhai, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.)
Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Loave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cde, Corbin and Mr. Singh for that sitting, and
- (b) Cde. Gill for 3 days from 26th March, 1979.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MCTION

ITEM 1 - ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1979

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply and resumed consideration of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1979,

In Committee of Supply

HEAD 69 MINISTRY OF HEALTH was passed as printed at ... \$ 1,805,731

ARTICLE IN THE 'NEW NATION' OF 25TH MARCH, 1979

The Speaker drew to the attention of the Assembly an article appearing prominently in the 'New Nation' of Sunday, 25th March, 1979, under the caption "Unpunctuality in Parliament - No time to waste time", made comments thereon, and requested that the same prominence be given to his comments as was given to the article referred to.

HEAD 70	MINISTRY OF HEALTH - MEDICAL opassed as printed at		\$ 7,631,910
HEAD 71	MINISTRY OF HEALTH - PATHOLOG was <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u> at	ICAL	1,116,432
HEAD 72	MINISTRY OF HEALTH - RADIOLOG was passed as printed at	ICAL	448 , 323
HEAD 73	MINISTRY OF HEALTH - HOSPITALS AND DISPENSARIES was passed as printed at		27,270,806
HEAD 74	MINISTRY OF HEALTH - ANALYST was <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u> at	•••	404 , 626
HEAD 75	MINISTRY OF HEALTH - PALMS was passed as printed at	s • • •	1,032,006
DIVISION XXVI	II - MINISTRY OF HEALTH was passod as <u>printed</u> at	•••	8,932,000
HE/\D 35	MINISTRY OF HOUSING was <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u> at	•••	1,669,224
DIVISION XXI	- MINISTRY OF HOUSING was passe as <u>printed</u> at	<u>• • •</u>	3,237,000
HEAD 76	MINISTRY OF LABOUR was <u>passed</u> as <u>printod</u> at	•••	1,151,131
HEAD 77	MINISTRY OF LABOUR - EMPLOY- MENT EXCHANGE SERVICE was passed as printed at	•••	120,848
HEAD 78	MINISTRY OF LABOUR - SOCIAL ASSISTANCE was passed as printed at	•••	6,198,726

Assembly resumed.

The Speaker informed the Assembly that it was agreed that the Estimates falling under the Ministry of Trade would be considered at the next sitting on Tuesday, 27th March, 1979, in addition to those Estimates already scheduled for consideration at that sitting.

ADJOURNMENT

At 4.15 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, tho Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Tuesday, 27th March, 1979.

S NARAIN peaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 27th March, 1979