THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 188th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demorara,

AT 2.00 P.N.

ON

FRIDAY, 30TH MARCH, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister(Absent - on leave)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development (Absent),

Senior Ministers (12)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives (Absent) Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent) * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent) * Cde, F.E. Hope, M.P. Minister of Finance * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent) * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent) * Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture

* war. algobad Minister

Ministers (2)

		O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister - Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne) (Absent - on leave) C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent)	
	Mini	Ministers of State <u>(</u> 10)	
	Cde.	F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State - Regional	
	C de 🛛	(Rupununi) (Absent) P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of	
	Cde,	Economic Development and Co-operatives K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State - Regional	
	C de 🛛	(Mazaruni/Fotaro) J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Ministor of State - Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)	
	Cde.	J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister	
	Cde.	R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of National Development	
		S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State - Regional (East Demerara/West Coast Berbice)	
		R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Ministor of State, Ministry of Agriculture	
	Cde.	L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State - Regional (North West) (Absent)	
*	Cde.	F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development (Absent)	
	Parli	iamentary Secretaries (5)	
		M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of	
		Agriculture M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamontary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture	
		E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection	
	Cde.	C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives	
	<u>Other Members (15)</u>		
	Cde. Cde. Cde. Cde. Cde. Cde. Cde. Cde.	<pre>W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. (Absent - on leave) E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. J. Gill, M.P. (Absent) W. Hussain, M.P. (Absent) K.M.E. Jonas, M.P. J.G. Ramson, M.P. J.G. Ramson, M.P. A. Salim, M.P. (Absent - on leave) E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P., (Absent)</pre>	
	Cde. Cde. Cde.	S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P. H.A. Taylor, M.P. L.E. Willems, M.P. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.	

* Non elected Minister

3. Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde, C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent) Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent) Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent) Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. Cde, R. Ally, M.P. Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. Cde. Dindayal, M.P. Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Burnham, Jackson and Clarke for that sitting.

PERSONAL EXPLANATIONS

Cde. C. Jagan - 'Guyana Chronicle' Article on Appointment of Ombudsman

The Leader of the Opposition referred to an article in the Guyana Chronicle newspaper of that.day under the caption "Jagan's Tardiness Delaying Appointment of Ombudsman" concerning remarks made by the Attorney General and Minister of Justice at the sitting on 28th March, 1979, on the Office of the Ombudsman. The Leader of the Opposition claimed that the remarks were incorrect and made an explanation on the matter.

The Speaker requested that the explanation by the Leader of the Opposition be also published in the newspaper.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDER

The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That paragraphs (2) and (3) of Standing Order No. 46 be suspended to enable the Assembly to proceed at its sitting on Friday, 30th March, 1979, with the second reading and the remaining stages of the following Bills:

- (i) CUSTOMS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1979 (Bill No. 5/1979 published 24.3.79)
- (ii) TEACHERS' PENSIONS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1979
 (Bill No. 4/1979 published 24.3.79).

Cde, Reepu Daman Persaud and Mr. Singh spoke to the motion. The motion was <u>then put and corried</u>.

BILL Second and Third Readings

ITEM 2 - CUSTOMS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1979 - Bill No. 5/1979 published 24,3.79

The Minister of Finance moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE CUSTOMS ACT.

Cde. N. Persaud and the Leader of the Opposition spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Finance replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was thereafter taken through its remaining stages and passed as $\underline{\text{printed}}_\bullet$

MOTION

ITEM 3 - CONFIRMATION OF CONSUMPTION TAX (AMENDMENT) ORDER 1979 (No.25)

The Minister of Financed moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly, in accordance with section 5 of the Consumption Tax Act, Chapter 80:02, confirm the Consumption Tax (Amendment) Order 1979 (No. 25), which was made on 21st March, 1979, and published in the Gazette on 24th March, 1979.

The motion was put and carried.

BILL - Smoond and Third Readings

ITEM 4 - TEACHERS' PENSIONE (AMENDMENT) BILL 1979 - Bill No. 4/1979 published 24.3.79

The Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture moved the second reading of the following:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE TEACHERS' PENSIONS ACT AND TO MAKE A CONSEQUENTIAL AMENDMENT TO THE PENSIONS ACT.

The Deputy Speaker spoke to the motion.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At. 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud concluded his speech.

Mr. Singh spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was thereafter taken through its remaining stages and passed as $\texttt{printed}_{\bullet}$

ADJOURNMENT

At 5.51 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

haran 17.4.29 S. NARAIN Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 17th April, 1979.