THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 191st Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ΠN

THURSDAY, 28TH JUNE, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, D.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development (Absent)

Senior Ministers (12)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives (Absent on leave)
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House (Absent)
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice
- * Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent on leave)

Ministers (2)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne)(Absent)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime
 Minister (Absent on leave)
 - * Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (10)

- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

2.

- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport, Ministry of National Development (Absent)
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development (Absent)

Parliamentary Secretaries (5)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

Other Members (15)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P.
- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P.
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

* Non elected Minister

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (A. Knight)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. Singh for that sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - APPROVAL OF FINANCIAL PAPER NO. 1/1979

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to consider Financial Paper No. 1/1979.

In Committee of Supply

In accordance with article 80(2) of the Constitution, the Minister of Finance signified Cabinet's recommendation and moved the following motion:

BE IT RESULVED:

That the Committee of Supply approve of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 1/1979 -Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates (Advances made from the Contingencies Fund in 1978), totalling \$3,215,066.

After consideration of the Financial Paper, the motion was put and carried.

Assembly resumed.

On a motion by the Minister of Finance, the Assembly adopted the following Resolution:

> RESOLVED, That this National Assembly agree with the Committee of Supply in the following Resolution:

> > "RESOLVED, That the Committee of Supply approve of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 1/1979 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates (Advances made from the Contingencies Fund in 1978), totalling \$3,215,066."

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.20 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Finance, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 5th July, 1979.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE. Public Buildings, Georgetown. 3rd July, 1979