FIRST SESSION

1973 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 195th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Grorgetown, Demerara,

At 2.00 P.M.

## FRIDAY 12TH OCTOBER, 1979

#### MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister(Absent) Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development (Absent)

Senior Ministers (12)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport (Absent)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House (Absent - on leave) Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Absent - on leave)
- \* Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)
- \* Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources(Absent)
- \* Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
  \* Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
  \* Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and
- Minister of Justice (Absent)
- \* Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent)
- \* Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent) \* Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)

Ministers (2)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne) (Absent - on leave)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent on leave)

\* Non elected Minister

# <u>Ministurs of Statu (10)</u>

MINISCUPS OF State (10)
Cdu. F.U.A. Carmichaul, M.P., Ministur of Statu - Rugional
(Rupununi) (Absunt) Cdu. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Ministur of Statu, Ministry of Economic Duvulopment and Co-opurativus
Cdu. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Ministur of Statu - Rogional (Mazaruni/Potaro) (Absunt)
(Mazaroni/Potaro) (Absont) Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State - Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)(Absent)
Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent)
Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport, Ministry of National Development (Absent)
Cdc. S. Prashad, M.P., Ministor of State - Regional (East Demorara/ West Coast Berbice) (Absent)
Cde. R.C. Van Slutyman, M.P., Minister of State Ministry of Agriculturo
Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State - Regional (North West(Absent) *Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development (Absent)
<u>Parliamentary Secretaries (5)</u>
Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip (Absent –on leave) Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of
Agriculture (Absent) Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education,
Social Development and Culture Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and
Consumer Protection (Absent - on leave) Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
Other Mombers (15)
Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P. Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. (Absont - on leave) Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. Cde. J. Gill, M.P. Cde. J. Gill, M.P. Cde. W. Hussain, M.P. Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P. (Absent) Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P. Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P. Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P. Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P. (Absont - on leave) Cde. A. Salim, M.P. Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P. Cde. G. Sukul, J.P.; M.P. Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P. Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.
Members of the Opposition (16)
(i) <u>People's Progressive Party (14)</u>
Leader of the Opposition (1)
Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)
Deputy Speaker (1) Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent - on leave)

\* Non elected Minister

Other Mombers (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent) Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent) Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. Cde. R. Ally, M.P. Cde. Dialchand, J.P., M.P. Cde. Dindayal, M.P. Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. (Absent) Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P. (Absent)

# (ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P., (Absent - on leave) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

#### OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (M.B. Henry)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (i) Cde. Ramsaroop for the period 21st September to 12th October, 1979,
- (ii) Cdes. Mingo, Clarke, Bynoe, Rayman and Mr M.F. Singh for that day's sitting,
- (iii) Cde. Nascimento for the period 23rd September to 15th October, 1979,
  - (iv) Cde. Field-Ridley for one month from 26th September, 1979, and
  - (v) Cde. Ram Karran up to 31st October, 1979.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

(1) By the <u>Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives</u> on behalf of the Prime Minister

> Reports (3) of the Sugar Industry Labour Welfare Fund Committee for the years 1970, 1971 and 1972.

> > (PM:20/2/3)(Circulated)

### (2) By the Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives:

(a) Financial Paper No. 2/1979 - Schodule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates for the period ended 30th September, 1979, totalling \$47,443,468.

(Circulated)

In terms of Standing Order No. 68. the Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives named Monday, 15th October, 1979, as the day for the consideration of the Financial Paper.

> (b) Regional Development (Matthews Ridge/Arakaka/ Kaituma) Authority (Amendment) Grder 1979 (No. 76), made under section 3 of the Regional Development Authorities Act 1977, on the 28th of August, 1979, and published in the Gazette on the 1st of September, 1979.

> > (RD: 12/13)(Circulated)

- (3) By the Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives on behalf of the Minister of Finance:
  - (a) Loan Agreement (Upper Demerara Forestry Project) between Guyana and International Bank for Reconstruction and Development - Dated December 4, 1978 - Loan Number 1623 GUA.

(ST: 3/2/2/14)

(b) Financing Contract between the European Economic Community and Guyana - Upper Demerara Forestry Project - 12th March, 1979.

(ST: 3/2/2/14)

(c) Loan Contract between Guyana and the Inter-American Development Bank in its capacity as Trustee of the Trust Fund created by the Venezuelan Investment Fund (Upper Demerara Forestry Project) - May 29, 1979. Loan No. 24/VF-GY Resolution DE-195/78.

(ST: 3/2/2/14)

(d) Loan Agreement (Upper Demerara Forestry Road Project) between Caribbean Development Bank and Guyana - Dated 28th June, 1979. Loan No. 5/OR-GU.

(ST: 3/2/2/14)

Report of the Directors of the New Widows and Orphans' Fund on the working of the Fund for the year (e) 1973.

(ST: 41/7)(Circulated)

### ADJOURNMENT

At 2.05 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives, the Asmembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Monday, 15th Octuber, 1979.

Jian S. NARAIN 13/4/79 Speaker 13/4/79

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 13th October, 1979.