FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 196th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

MUNDAY, 15TH OCTOBER, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister(Absent - on leave)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development (Absent)

Senior Ministers (12)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour (Absent)

- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources & Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance & Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture & Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and
- Minister of Justice (Absent)

 " Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent)
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)

Ministers (2)

Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister - Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne) Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister

^{*} Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (10)

- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional(Rupununi) Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the $^{\rm p}$ rime Minister
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport
 Ministry of National Development
 Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/
- West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)
- *Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development

Parliamentary Secretaries (5)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection:
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

Other Members (15)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P.
 Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P.
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P. Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Members of the Opposition (16)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent - on leave)

^{*} Non elected Minister

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.,

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.,

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. R. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P. (Absent)

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (M.B. Henry)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cde. Burnham and Mr. Singh for that day's sitting.

STATEMENTS BY MINISTERS

By the Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives on the half-year review of the economy

The Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives made a statement on the review and assessment of the performance of the economy for the first half year within the context of the policies, programmes and targets outlined in the 1979 Budget.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) BILL 1979 - Bill No. 11/1979 published 13.10.79

Before the presentation and first reading of the above Bill, the Speaker drew Members' attention to a printer's error in clause 2 of the Bill and asked them to correct their copies by interchanging the second line with the third line so that the clause 2 would be read as follows:

> Article 82 of the Constitution shall be construed and have effect as if for the words "six years and three months" in section 2 of the Constitution (Amendment) (No. 2) Act 1978, there were substituted the words "seven years and three months."

Thereafter, the Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives, on behalf of the Prime Minister, presented the Bill which was road the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO EFFECT AN ALTERATION TO ARTICLE 82 OF THE CONSTITUTION IN ACCORDANCE WITH ARTICLE 73 THEREOF.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 APPROVAL OF FINANCIAL PAPER NO. 2/1979

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to consider Financial Paper No. 2/1979.

In Committee of Supply

In accordance with article 80(2) of the Constitution, the Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives signified Cabinet's recommendation and moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That the Committee of Supply approve of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 2/1979 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates for the period ended 30th September, 1979, totalling \$47,443,468.

After consideration of the Financial Paper the motion was put and $\underline{\text{carried}}_{\bullet}$

Assembly resumed.

On a motion by the Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives the Assembly adopted the following Resolution:

RESOLVED, That this National Assembly agree with the Committee of Supply in the following Resolution:

RESOLVED, That the Committee of Supply approve of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 2/1979 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates for the period ended 30th September, 1979, totalling \$47,443,468."

ADJOURNMENT

At 5.05 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

5). NABAIN / +/75 Speaker/6/+/75

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 16th October, 1979.