THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 197th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ΩN

TUESDAY, 23RD OCTOBER, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY(63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, D.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (12)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice
- * Cde. V.R. Teekah, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection

Ministers (2)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister

/...

* Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (10)

- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional
 (Esseguibo Coast/West Demerara)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. R.H.D. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport, Ministry of National Development
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/ West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. L.A. Durant, M.P., Minister of State Regional (North West)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development

Parliamentary Secretaries (5)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

Other Members (15)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P.
- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P.
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P.
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

* Non elected Minister

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent on leave)

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. Cde. Dindayal, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P.

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

Officers

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (M.B. Henry)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

Second Reading, Committee and Third Reading

Second Reading

CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) BILL 1979 - Bill No. 11/1979 published 13.10.79

The Attorney General and Minister of Justice, on behalf of the Prime Minister, moved the second reading of the following Bill:

> A BILL intituled AN ACT TO EFFECT AN ALTERATION TO ARTICLE 82 OF THE CONSTITUTION IN ACCORDANCE WITH ARTICLE 73 THEREOF.

Cdes. Mohamed, N. Persaud and Collymore spoke to the motion,

Mr. Singh was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mr. Singh concluded his speech.

The Leader of the Opposition spoke to the motion.

Thereafter, the Prime Minister replied.

The motion was put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time.

Assembly resolved itself into Committee to consider the Bill clause by clause.

In Committee

Clause l was <u>passed</u> as <u>printed.</u>

Clause 2 was passed as was previously corrected.

Assembly resumed.

Third Reading

On a motion by the Prime Minister, the Bill was read the third time and <u>passed</u> as was <u>corrected</u> on the following division:

FOR

AGAINST

13

Mr. Abraham Cde. Zaheeruddeen Mr. Singh Cde. Willems Cde. Taylor Cde. Sukhai Cde. Sukul Cde. Nokta Cde. Sukhu Cde. Dindaval Cde. Stoby Cde. Dalchand Cde. Belgrave Cde. Salim Cde. Rayman Cde. Basir Cde. Mohamed Cde. Ramson Cde. Jonas Cde. Collymore Cde. Hussain Cde. N. Persaud Cde. Gill Cde. J. Jagan Cde. C. Jagan Cde. Fowler Cde. Field-Ridley Cde. Carrington Cde. Wrights

Carried 26 Forward:

Cde. Bynoe Cde. Corrica Cde. Ambrose Cde. Ackman Cde. Durant.

Cde. Van Sluytman
Cde. Prashad
Cde. Corbin
Cde. Thomas

Cde. Chowritmootoo

. 26

/..

AGAINST FOR

Brought

Forward: 26 13

Cde. Bancroft

Cde. Duncan

Cde. Carmichael

Cde. Nascimento

Cde. Clarke

Cde. Mingo

Cde. Ramsaroop
Cde. Naraine
Cde. Hoyte
Cde. Reid
Ede. Burnham

37 13

S. WARAIN

ADJOURNMENT

At 6.28 p.m., on.,a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 10th November, 1979.