FIRST SESSION

1973 - 1979

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 199th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

 \cup \cup

MONDAY 3RD DECEMBER, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (62)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, D.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (45)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (11)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives (Absent)
- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Minister of Works and Transport
- Cde. B. Ramseroop, M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- Cde. C.V. Mingo, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. H. Green, M.P., Minister of Health, Housing and Labour
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (Absent)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
- * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent → on leave)
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection

Ministers (2)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister Regional (East Berbice/ Corentyne) (Absent)
- Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Office of the Prime Minister (Absort on leave)

^{*} Non elected Minister

Ministers of State (9)

- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister of State Regional (Rupununi) (Absent)
- Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., M.P., Minister of State, Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P., M.P., Minister of State Regional Mazaruni/Potaro) (Absent)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of State-Regional (Essequibo Coast/Wost Demerara) (Absent - on leave)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent)
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport, Ministry of National Development (Absent)
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of State Regional (East Demerara/West Coast Berbice)
- Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)
- Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of State for Information, Ministry of National Development (Absent)

Parliamentary Secretaries (6)

- Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip (Absent on leave
- Cde. E.L. Ambrose, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. M. Gorrica, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)
- Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives
- Cde. J.G. Ramson, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and $T_{\mathbf{r}}$ ansport

Other Members (15)

- Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H., M.P.
- Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. W. Hussain, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. K.M.E. Jonas, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. A. Salim, M.P.
- Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. C. Sukul, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.A. Taylor, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. H.B. Walcott, M.P.
- Cde. L.E. Willems, M.P.
- Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P. (Absent)

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P., Leader of the Opposition (Absent)

^{*} Non elected Minister

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P. Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, N.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, N.P.

Cde. R. Ally, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. (Absent) Cde. Dindayal, M.P. (Absent) Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. P. Sukhai, M.P. (Absent)

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent :- on leave) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly (F.A. Narain, A.A.) Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (M.B. Henry)

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

Cde. Huldah Benomi Walcott DATH

The Speaker informed Members that with the death of Cde. Leonard Durant a vacancy had been created in the National Assembly and, in accordance with article 70(1) of the Constitution. he had called upon the Representative of the List of Candidates from which Cde. Durant's name had been extracted, to further extract from the said list the name of a person to fill the vacancy. stated that he had been informed that the name of Cde. Huldah Benomi Walcott had been extracted from the List to fill the vacancy.

Cde. Walcott who was present made and subscribed the Dath of Office.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(1) Death of the Archbishop of the West Indias

The Speaker referred to the death of the Archbishop of the West Indies, The Most Reverend Dr. Alan John Knight and, after outlining briefly the late Archbishop's important role in the life of the Legislature from 1944 to 1960 and his appointment as a companion of the Most Distinguished Order of St. Michael and St. George, for his devoted and unselfish work in Ghana (Gold Coast) and British ${\tt Guiana.}$ Members of the Assembly recorded their regret at the death of the Archbishop, and stood in silence for one minute.

(ii) Leawe

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Jackson, Nascimento, Chowritmootoo, Hussain and Mr. Singh for that sitting and to Cde. Ackman for 4 months from 1st December, 1979.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REFORTS, ETC.

By the <u>Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House on behalf of the Minister of Finance:</u>

Project Loan and Grant Agreement between Guyana and the United States of America (through A.I.D.) for Rural Health Systems.

(GT: 3/2/4/19) (Circulated)

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.15 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentar Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

S. NARAIN Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 15th December, 1979,